We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable”
Review of Astra Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a lovely 2 day stay at this new motel in auckland as were visiting friends. We couldn't have asked for more. Really clean. Lovely and spacious so my daughter could run around, unlike other hotels we stayed in. Lovely Spa bath which i used, was delightful. The beds? They are TO DO for!!! such a comfortable stay and such lovely owners. I wouldn't look anywhere else if you were needing a place to stay in Hamilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umbongo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Umbreen,

Many thanks for your review, much appreciated.

The deluxe 1 bedroom Apartment is a great room with space, extra large shower and of course that spa bath. It gives you that extra space as mentioned so that beautiful little girl of yours could run around. We really enjoyed having you and you family staying with us at the Astra Motor Lodge and look forward to seeing you all again next time you are in Hamilton.

Take Care

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at the Astra Motor Lodge as a result of a recommendation. The recommendation did not fall short. Not only does the Motor Lodge provide excellent accommodation, "The Personnel Touch" provided by Bronny & Steve was exceptional. Upon leaving the Motor Lodge I left behind personnel medication (much to my embarrassment). Bronny tried to contact me that day however was unsuccessful and I did not become aware of the situation until the next day.
When I became aware of the situation and contacted Bronny the support was exceptional; Bronny & Steve arranged a courier to get my medication to me in Auckland - I received my medication that day.
How do you rate a Motor Lodge in a situation such as this - "The Personal Touch".

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Greg,

Thank you for your lovely review. Many guests leave the odd item behind so it is as important for us to make sure you get these as quick as possible. It is just one of many personal touches that we go out of our way to provide. It was great meeting you and the word is getting out there that the Astra Motor Lodge is the place to stay. We really appreciate our guests spreading the word.

We look forward to catching up next time you are in Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Staying in this motel for my first two weeks in New Zealand was the best I could wish for after a long travel from Holland and having to find my way in Hamilton. From the moment I walked in Bronny and Steven were very hostile, friendly and helpful. Room and service were more than perfect too, but it's the owners that make this motel such an amazing place to stay! Coming to Hamilton to work for a year as a doctor and not knowing anybody at arrival, these two people became my surrogate home. I'm so thankful for everything they've done for me! Even after being exactly 6 months in NZ now, I still feel welcome at their place:-)
I can strongly recommend this motel!
Thank you Bronny and Steven!
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Hi Charlotte,
Many thanks for your kind words. That old saying that guests arrive as strangers and leave as friends certainly sits firmly with the Astra Motor Lodge as we strive to provide a service that makes your stay a great experience. We feel extremely lucky to have had meet you and to have you as part of the Astra family. We look forward to you popping in when ever you are passing by and continue to provide you with all our support while you are in NZ.

Take care

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thanks Astra Motor Lodge for making our stay so wonderful. After a very long journey of 16 hours it was so nice to find a motel with great hospitality and service. The room was perfect. Lovely and clean, well equipped, quiet and definitely well priced. The bed and the shower, WOW, just awesome. Would highly recommend this motor lodge to anyone and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hi Brett,

Thank you for your lovely review. A 16 Hour journey certainly takes its toll so to be able to provide all those wonderful comforts was our pleasure. We look forward to having you back at the Astra Motor Lodge to enjoy those beds and large showers but please take a shorter route to get here.

Take care,

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here because of it's location and was pleasantly surprised with the excellent service I received. Nothing was too much for them to provide and I found them very friendly. Even though it is on a main road, I did not hear traffic noises unless there was an open door or window. They even went and got my dinner from a nearby restaurant for me. Should be more places like this around the country. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwibloke62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Kiwi bloke,

It great meeting you and was our pleasure to provide you with our friendly hassle free service to make your stay an enjoyable one. Picking up dinners, dropping off guests and picking up again if required are some of the small things that the Astra Motor Lodge provide to make your stay memorable.

We both look forward to catching up again next time you are in Hamilton.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My sister and I stayed here this week, while our mother was in Waikato Hospital. We picked the Astra simply because it was so close to the hospital (8 minutes walk) but we stumbled on a gem. Bronny was kindness personified from the very first contact and made everything as simple as possible. There was practical assistance (a shuttle to the hospital available and advice about eateries nearby) and lovely thoughtfulness (offering my frazzled sister coffee and shortbread when she staggered back to the motel for a rest).
It probably should have come as no surprise to us that when we raved to the hospital social worker about the Astra, she told us the hospital staff have had only positive feedback from everyone they know to have stayed with Bronny and Steve.
While especially suitable for people needing to use the hospital, this would be a great option for any travelers. The units are new, modern, spacious and of a high standard. Very importantly despite being close to a main road, noise was no issue at all because of the quality of the construction.
Chose the Astra - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyHCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Lily,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write these kind words. The freshly ground coffee and homemade shortbread certainly hits the spot more so when under a little pressure.
We really enjoyed providing you and your sister with an environment that was hassle free and relaxing under the circumstances you were in.
We both hope your next visit to the Astra Motor Lodge will be in better circumstances and remember that the coffee and shortbread will still be fresh.

Take care

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Owing to its proximity to Waikato Hospital and pending surgery for my husband, I chose to stay at the Astra as a result of previous experience of their excellent service, facilities and their ultra friendly and dedicated customer focus. I can thoroughly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a home away from home environment. Bronny and Steve were outstanding hosts.

Room Tip: While there isn't a restaurant attached to the Astra, on the day my husband was discharged from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hi Rosie, wonderful to hear from you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. When we have guests like yourselves staying for a long period, it is nice to think we can make it as hassle free as we can. We both enjoy entertaining and mixing with the guests when we can. Look forward to seeing you both again when next in Hamilton.

Regards Bronny and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
1,206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
270 reviews
2 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing