We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really is your Home away from Home”
Review of Astra Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Woy Woy, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It really is your Home away from Home”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week in order to be a close distance to my friends who were getting married AND to be in a central position to go for day trips in the Waikato area.

I'm originally from the South Island and do not know the North Island at all so I wasn't sure where the best place was to stay. We chose the Astra Motor Lodge purely because of the photo of the owners and the photos of the rooms and by God did we strike gold!

We arrived late in the evening. Bronny and Steve were glad to see us. Steve was kind enough to blend some proper coffee grains for my partner's first cuppa the next morning. We had an apartment up off the ground, our own parking space and got to meet Alvin their feline who does ad hoc room inspections. In the dark the Astra Lodge was easy, thanks to the spiffy blue lights on the walls. The position of the lodge, just on the edge of Hamilton was perfect because we didn't have to navigate through city traffic for our day trips.

When we return to the North Island, we will definitely be staying at the Astra Lodge again AND recommending it to any of our friends who will travel to that area. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was fabulous! (will be borrowing THAT design!), the little kitchenette was great too. Bit hard to wash dishes with a microwave in your face BUT for two people, there isn't really that many dishes to wash anyway. It was a new building and everything worked! Nothing was missing or faulty or smelly. Kitchenette was definitely well stocked and it was a great place to stay.

Bronny and Steve know their stuff locally and always had good advice on where to go, what to do and where to eat. They were always happy to help or answer our questions with a smile. It was pretty good to be near two Hospitals too (by coincidence) and while the Astra Lodge is on a main road it was easy for us to go for an early morning walk daily and not get lost.

The Waikato River wasn't all that far away at all, plus there was a park that had an outdoor rollerskating rink(locked during our time here), outdoor basketball court and skateboarding space. On our second last day we walked right up to under the bridge and sat and watched ducks. A very peaceful and relaxing morning.

Another place to visit is the Hamilton Gardens. It's free and be prepared to be blown away, it's much bigger than you think! During our week in Hamilton we went to Papamoa and Cambridge twice, did a day trips to Rotorua and Hobbiton (awesome!).

The only mistake we made was flying from Auckland to Hamilton. The locals thought we were nuts; because the length of time we spent waiting at Auckland airport, we could've driven to Hamilton by then. Turns out it's a 15 min flight. D'oh! But we will factor that in for next time.

Many thanks to Bronny and Steve for giving two stressed out Sydney chicks a nice, clean, decent place to stay for a week. You two are naturals at this !! Thank you also for the birthday wine, we didn't drink it that night, but took it back to Australia with us. It will be consumed soon!

Room Tip: I'm actually deaf, so noise doesn't make any difference to me, but if you want to be away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Christine,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed hosting you both and giving away all our local knowledge. It is people like you that really make our job (lifestyle) so enjoyable. We feel so lucky and privileged to have wonderful guests like yourselves who choose the Astra Motor Lodge to spend time at. The wine was just a small thank you on behalf of us all.
We do hope to see you both next time you are in Hamilton and if we are heading your way we will certainly touch base.

Take Care

Steven & Bronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    43
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
123
129
26
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Thanks to the best motel hosts we have EVER had in all our experiences in motels throughout the country. Bronny and Steve were fantastic from the moment our car pulled into the carpark, until they said farewell. I was there for a procedure at Waikato Hospital and the proximity of the Motel meant I could walk across the road for a short stroll to my appointment. If I was unable to walk, they offered to pick me drop me off and pick me up - fabulous service! Nothing was a problem - even moving us to another unit so it suited us better was not a problem for them. The units are modern and extremely clean with everything you need. They come highly recommended to others and I would certainly stay again with them should I need to do so. Bronny and Steve could do with training some other hosts around the country so others can get up to their standard!!

Room Tip: If you need a Wheelchair room they have two! If you aren't used to traffic noise, ask to be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated. We really enjoy meeting all our guests and try to provide a level of service that we would expect if we were traveling. We certainly hope that you visit again but without the hospital visit. Take care.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Bronny & Steve made me feel so welcome, and were so helpful! The room I stayed in was lovely - very comfortable, modern and well-appointed. I hated to leave today, and will definitely be booking there the next time I'm in Hamilton. The bed was fabulous - after five night's stay in Auckland at a place with beds which were too soft, my poor back needed a decent bed - thank goodness I'd booked in to the Astra Motor Lodge! And last but certainly not least, Bronny went out of her way to fix a door ding on my car - talk about full service!! Couldn't have asked for better hosts!

Room Tip: As it's a new place, I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealMcCoyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi there RealMcCoy,

We do look forward to hosting you again next time you are visiting Hamilton. The beds have been a talking point with all guests to the degree that some have brought them.
We hope that you had a safe trip back home and look forward to catching up again soon.

Cheers

Bronny & Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Bronny & Steve were very welcoming and friendly both on the phone and in person and made everything easy. The modern high standard of accommodation and facilities is excellent making a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room I stayed in was level all access with an extra large wet area bathroom to accommodate wheel chairs. The layout and space of the room was generous with a queen and single bed plus kitchen off to one end. Even though being on a busy road the modern building with double glazing and good inter unit wall construction or insulation etc meant a great undisturbed night’s sleep. guest carparking was good and the location meant it was easy to get all around Hamilton or use as a base to go further. To top it all off the pricing is good value. I will definitely be back when in the Waikato area for work and even for my family with 3 children if we need to stay or visit the area.

Room Tip: Contact Bonny or Steve directly and they will be able to sort out the best room to suit your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2MEKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi 2Mekes,

Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. We really enjoyed your feed back in regards to the room layout you were in as everyone has their preferred places and room likes. We look forward to you and your family staying with us at the Astra Motor Lodge next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I chose Astra Motor Lodge from the Trip Advisor list for an overnight for two couples because it was highly rated and convenient. We were not disappointed. The hosts, Bronny & Steven couldn't be more helpful. It was Valentines Day; we were to attend a concert in the park ( Hamilton Gardens) at 8 that evening. Even though we arrived at 5:30 Steven managed to get us a reservation at an excellent restaurant on short notice.
The motel rooms are very well designed, well equipped and new. Although Astra is on a busy road, you don't notice the traffic noise. We didn't try the spa tub, but the shower was excellent. My sister-in-law liked the double shower in her room. Freshly ground coffee and a pint of milk gave us a good start to the morning, With a good recommendation of a cafe down the road for breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Cameron,

Many thanks for your review, much appreciated. The 2 rooms that you and your family had were great options. Spa bath and double shower heads are enjoyed by all guests that have those rooms. Freshly ground coffee is a great start to the day and café Frescha just down the road supplies great food and service. They do of course look after guests from the Astra Motor Lodge that little bit better. The power we have to get you into that restaurant at short notice may have had a little luck also.
We look forward to hosting you again next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for our daughter's wedding at this great motel. The large well appointed and exceptionally clean room with fantastic comfy beds, huge luxurious shower, was of a superior hotel standard. Steve and Bronny were the kindest and most generous hosts we've ever met. They went far above and beyond any expectations! Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable. Dave and Hilary

Room Tip: The Fresca Cafe at the Plant Pot Garden Centre is 500 metres down the road and a beautiful spot for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emberton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Emberton,

Thank you for your kind words. What a wonderful few days and the weather was very kind to you for Sophie's wedding. We were absolutely delighted to have seen and witness the bride to be and hope that you can all visit us again next time you are in N.Z. We hope the rest of the wedding went as per plan in Thailand and that you all had a great trip back home.

Kind Regards

Bronny & Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for a night and absolutely loved this place!
The room was clean with a spa bath and a really comfortable bed! Steve and Bronny are really helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The hotel is located just a few minutes drive away from the CBD which was really convenient.
Really enjoyed the stay.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Jkar19,

The spa bath apartments have been very popular as is the location of the Astra Motor Lodge. A 3 minute drive to the eating establishments makes getting to and from dinner very easy.
We look forward to hosting you again next time you are in Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Property: Astra Motor Lodge
Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing