We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astra Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Hamilton Tainui(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ashwood Manor(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/06
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
346
48
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
48
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly ground coffeedouble showerwaikato hospitalbusy roadmotor lodgegreat amenitiesmain roadplace to staysky tvshort noticeexcellent accommodationmodern roomshamilton gardenson arrivalcomfy bedfree wifidouble glazing
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I cannot fault this place. The rooms are immaculate, finished to a high standard and exceptionally comfortable. There is everything you are likely to need in the rooms: comfy beds, sky TV, smart kitchenette, lush bathroom with hair dryer and Natural Earth toiletries. Highly recommend Cafe Fresca at the garden centre down the road, and Sing Dar takeaway if you're too exhausted after a long drive to cook or go to a restaurant. The owners are wonderfully friendly and will tell you anything you need to know. And if they don't have the info there and then, they'll find out for you. They clearly love what they are doing and they should take great pride in what they have achieved over the past 12 months. Well done guys. Hope to call in to see you again next year.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind words Hayley, much appreciated. We do enjoy what we are doing and have loved meeting some fantastic people like yourself. The NZ Made beds are still getting plenty or top reviews along with our great local Café - Café Fresca, they also do a great job at looking after our guests.
We do hope you will visit next time you are in NZ.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Bronny and Steve could write a text book on hospitality! Excellent service, generous beyond expectations. Rooms clean, with crisp lovely linen - but the best beds ever! It's worth staying just to experience the beds! Hopefully will have an excuse to work again in Hamilton very soon!

Room Tip: Have stayed in several different rooms, all comfortable and quiet - especially given main road next door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Debbie,

In the 12 months that we have been open the beds are still getting plenty of comments so much so that we decided to buy one and absolutely love it. We do hope that your work will continue to bring you down this way and look forward to catching up again soon.

Take care,

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed in one of the Disability units, and were very grateful for the thoughtfulness of the hosts Bronny and Steve, who are welcoming and are more that happy to go the extra mile for their guests.
Rooms were clean, well presented and still have that new feeling. Kitchen was well stocked with pretty much everything you will need.
Location is close to the hospitals and on the main route in and out of the city.
Was a true pleasure to stay at Astra.
Hosts and Hostess are exceptional and adjusted the bed to allow for the specialised equipment we had, and were more than happy to offer us their bed stilts so that we could take them with us to other motels. How great is that!
Would recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Taka,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Astra Motor Lodge. We really appreciate all comments and have made some more supports for the beds for those that may require them. We look forward to hosting you again next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We can't say enough about this place. The other reviewers have it spot on. The most stand out is what great hospitality Bronny and Steven greet you with every day. To us it felt like we were in a small town with friends rather than in a big city. Well set up for longer stays and exceptionally clean! They kept us busy with great day trip suggestions and places to eat. On sight laundry that you don't have to plug coins into was refreshing as well. You simply can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kozars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Kozars,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We absolutely love meeting our new guests and as they say, "arrive as strangers, leave as friends". We believe this is that case with the Astra Motor Lodge which is why we enjoy running our successful business.
We hope to see you again next time you are visiting NZ.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Having flown from Hong Kong and then driven to Hamilton, we were given a warm welcome by Steve and Bronny at the Astra ML. We were upgraded to a two bedroomed apartment and this was a pleasant surprise. The apartment was modern, had very good facilities and was spotless. The bed was comfortable and my wife and I had a good night's sleep. There is free WiFi and new flat screened televisions with Sky / Fox available. Steve gave us a lift to a nearby restaurant on our first night - thank you. At reception there is plenty of information about what to do / where to go in the Hamilton area. Steve and Bronny have a wealth of knowledge and shared some ideas with us on our 3 week stay in NZ. Great location next to Highway 1. Astra ML is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHNROBERTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BronnyP, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi John,

Thank you for choosing the Astra Motor Lodge and also for your review. A hassle free stay is what we provide so dropping you off in town is one of those small but helpful services we provide.

We look forward to catching up next time you are visiting NZ and Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews