We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people great place”
Review of Astra Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I came up to Hamilton from chch for an interview with my Mum, this hotel stood out as it was close to our destination and not knowing hamilton at all this was ideal, the owners where EXTREMELY SUPPORTIVE offering lifts to and from town giving maps and offering advice. lovely, genuine, down to earth couple. Awesome facilities and VERY comfortable bed. wouldn't look anywhere else to stay in Hamilton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Gracie,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you and your mum stay with us at the Astra Motor Lodge and hoped that your interview went well and that you were successful in your job. We hope to see you and your family next time visiting Hamilton.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We only stayed at the Astra for 1 day visiting family in hospital. Hosts went above and beyond the call of duty friendly. Loved the fresh coffee beans for plunger would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MJP1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi MJP1972,

Many thanks for your review and recommending the Astra Motor Lodge to others, it is much appreciated. The freshly ground coffee hits the spot and makes a great start to the day. We look forward to hosting you again next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The perfect hideaway getaway!! Very comfortable modern rooms to hunker down in and enjoy the peace and quiet. With double glazed windows and a heat pump its an easy place to hideaway for the weekend and enjoy a quiet one. Great Service, Great Value, a short walk to the Lake and a great Cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jolyon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Jolyon,

Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated. The rooms are lovely and warm with the heat pumps as you mentioned and the double glaze hush glass helps with the quiet nights stay. We look forward to catching up again soon.

Regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great 2 nights at Astra. Steve and Bronny were great people so friendly and helpful and the freshly ground coffee was gorgeous. The unit was excellent. Nice clean and tidy and the double headed shower was the best. Came back in the evening and the cleaners had been. Excellent place and well priced for the 2 nights. Highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Donna,

The freshly ground coffee hits the spot every time for the coffee lovers. Our girls (house keepers) take great pride in the standard of the rooms and the double head showers are enjoyed by all couples. We look forward to catching up next time you are visiting Hamilton.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The motel units are new, fresh, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.
The hosts, Steve and Bronny, provide the best customer service I have experienced.
They manage to be very friendly whilst remaining professional, and go the extra mile to be helpful in whatever way they can.
I stayed their whilst my husband was in hospital, and they helped to take some stress out of what was a very stressful time.
I would recommend their motel for vacation, business or proximity to hospital. For whatever reason you stay at the Astra Motor Lodge, I am sure Steve and Bronny will make sure your stay is the best it can be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Jan,

Thank you for your kind words. As you know it can be stressful when you have a love one in Hospital. We understand that as we have been there ourselves so we try to take as much stress away by providing a hassle free stay. Taking guests to and from the hospital helps and sometimes a glass of wine is better. We hope all is well with you and your husband and look forward to catching up next time you are in Hamilton.

Warm Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was a rewarding, relaxing & most enjoyable time i have had in a long time. From the outset I found Steve to be a very professional, friendly host & most of all very helpful in providing information regarding local establishments, local road access as well as recommendations of particulars services Hamilton has to offer. The motel room was in my opinion 5 star's. It was full of the usual mod cons (In excellent condition), excellent lighting, the rooms were setup beautifully, linen was freshly laid with bottles of perfumes, separate TV's connected to separate sky devices & a deluxe styled bathroom, stock with extras (spa bath & a separate huge shower). Its a motel that prides itself in giving just excellent service. My family were grateful for this excellent experience, i can only say that we will definitely come back & tell all our friends & family about your motel. Thanks Steve.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe unit its was the most relaxing & worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnboy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Johnboy,

It was great hosting you and your family and what great boys you have. I did notice that they were extremely happy having their own sky TV. Room 12 is a great room, not only with the extra large shower but the spa bath to soak in. We hope to catch up again soon and will certainly look after all your family and friends should they come and stay.

Kind Regards

Steven & Bronny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I cant say enough about this motel and its owners. My husband needed bypass surgery and Bronny and Steve were the best ever. when bookings had to change and so much more they were working with me every step of the way. Even after leaving they were still in contact to see how things went. the motel it self was beautiful, clean and very well maintained. we will be back but under different circumstances this time. highly recommended++++++

Room Tip: Very close to the hospital as well hopping area's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronny_61, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Colleen,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the us at the Astra Motor Lodge. Being close to both hospitals means that we do have to make changes to rooms and dates to fit in with the guests. We pride ourselves on a hassle free stay and we work closely with our guests to make sure this happens. We hope that all is well with you and your husband and do look forward to catching up next time you are in Hamilton. Please do pop in even just for a coffee.

Warm regards

Bronny & Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.7 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £82 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing