We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst motel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manhattan Lodge Motel
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“The worst motel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is by far the worst motel I have ever been to, let alone stayed in. The motel room was overpriced at $108.00 per night; the decor and furnishings were old fashioned, poor quality and out-dated; no air-conditioning unit except for an old window mounted fan; the room smelt like previous tenants chain smoke in it, THE LIST GOES ON...... I would never recommend this motel to anyone! Highly disappointing and a waste of money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick L, Owner at Manhattan Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi, thank you for your review which made us reflect on ourselves and consider sincerely what we have to do from now on. As I am a new owner of this property I will do my best to improve our poor operation and renovate outdated property one by one. I hope that Manhattan Lodge Motel impress most of guests with comfortable service, clean facilities and convenient location near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

As a family we are prepared to stay in budget motels and have many times, also places that are tired and need a re-vamp but this place was just horrendous. As soon as we walked in the door my wife, and daughter who had booked another unit here, both wanted to get back in the cars and find another motel.
The cleaners do a poor job. The lino floors were sticky. The fridge was turned off and there was a carton of milk still in there from the last occupants. Also there was a wet towel from previous occupants still hanging on the rail in the wardrobe of the room to be used by my sons. The window sill in their room was also covered by dust and mould. As soon as we put food on the bench in the kitchen ants appeared. We wanted to use a pot to cook tea for my grandchildren and had to wash it first as it had mouse poo in it. Also, we had booked in 4 people but only 2 towels were supplied. Hopeless.
You need to be quite good at backing your car in order to leave the carpark. There is no way to turn your car around outside your unit and I was grateful that I can back up and that our hire car had a rearview camera as I had to reverse back past 8 other units to get out.
I would never recommend this motel to anyone. We chose it because it was one of the cheapest we had see with a 2 bedroom unit but in hindsight I wish that we had just gone with the dearer options available.
Do yourself a favour, find somewhere else to stay. This place may be cheaper than others but it is certainly not cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

When arriving at check-in it was noted the bad smell of reception. Then the room we booked for 2 adults and 2 small children only had 1 room. The bedroom was small and had a hot water service in a cupboard. The walls on the bathroom and bedroom were covered in mould. The heater didn't work in our room and could only offer a little portable oil heater. The floors were sticky and the room just smelt dirty. Also the parking was impractical and hard to get out, as you nearly need to reverse out the whole way.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charandjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspen Manor Motel
Aspen Manor Motel
#19 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Albert Court Motor Lodge
Albert Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tudor Motor Lodge
Tudor Motor Lodge
#40 of 64 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Lodge Motel

Property: Manhattan Lodge Motel
Address: 218 Grey Street, Hamilton 3216, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manhattan Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Lodge motel reopened on early Feb 2014 with new owner. If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Hamilton, look no further than Manhattan Lodge Motel. The excitement of the city center is only 2.9 km away. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this Hamilton hotel. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi in public areas, room service, laundry service, express check-in/check-out, luggage storage. Guests can choose from 9 fully self-contained units in ground floor, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include garden are designed for escape and relaxation. Whatever your reason for visiting Hamilton, the Manhattan Lodge Motel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. Handy to Hamilton East Shopping, restaurants & city centre, Lovely riverside walks, Easy access to State Highway 1, Hamilton Gardens, Southern Cross Hospital (500m), Lugton Park (badminton, bowling, tennis), Claudelands Events Centre (2km), University of Waikato (2km), Ruakura Agricultural Research, Waikato Hospital (2km), Hamilton Airport (3km), Mystery Creek Events (10km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Manhattan Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing