We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family / animal stay”
Review of Tudor Motor Lodge

Tudor Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Motor Lodge
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family / animal stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This was absolutely a great place to stay we were a family of 4 adults 2 children 2 powderpuff dogs and 2 rotties.We were made to feel most welcome and it was a most relaxing worry free stay. The kids enjoyed the pool and the dogs were made welcome too. Would definetly recommend this to any family who travel with pets and even those who don't as it was as nothing seemed to be a bother. Will certainly go there again and will recommend it to other family and friends. Who cares about flash if you are made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: we had ground floor rooms with parking right at the door which was great as we had a dog trailer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeftonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

During our trip in New Zealand in Ocotober 2012, my sister in law fell ill and was transferred to Hamilton Hospital. Needing a place to stay nearby, we booked into the Tudor Lodge, a fifteen minute walk away from the hospital.
The Tudor lodge is very reasonably priced and whilst it may nor be five star, it is very comfortable and the owner - Karen Lyman - is a lovely and very helpful person.
Happily my sister in law had recovered enough for our scheduled flight back to Australia where she lives, but the Tudor Lodge was happy to hold our room in case the hospital did not consider her well enough to travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

After arriving in hamilton on a rainy night in peak hour traffic my husband and I who usually stay at 5 star establishments came into town to find a large conference on and the big hotels booked out. After viewing a few hotels at the other end of town which we didnt like the look of we ended up here. The reception from the owners was warm and friendly so we decided to stay the night here. Yes what a great location only 750 mtr into the main resaurant and bar area of Hamilton. The owners even had umbrellas available for us to use. As other reviewer say the decor is a bit dated although the room had a flat screen TV and a fantastic heater that had a thermostat so we didnt over heat in the night. Not a flash hotel but great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliboo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights 15 & 16 January,2012. Rebooked for 14 March. We found no issues to complain about. Value for money "ABSOLUTELY". So what if the place is looking a bit dated. An establishment does not have to be new to be comfortable. After all, at these prices one would not expect to stay in a Palace. If you want one of them go and pay their out rageous charges.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puketona, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here resently and thought it was good value for the price. The motel is in a good location (walking distance to town) and is priced to suit. The owners are very helpful and cook us a good breakfast. I looked at other reviews (after booking) before staying here and was a little worried but found it to be above what i had expected after reading the reviews. I would stay here again because of the close proximity to town and because you are charged for what you get. If you want 5 star stay somewhere else and pay the big money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Great location close to the heart of Hamilton City. Within walking distance of the main area for bars, restaurants, the casino and the stadium.

Unfortunately the complex is very dated, but the price reflects that. Choose this place for the location but not if you are after comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The motel was in a good location as it was in walking distance of the central city. The reception staff were friendly, however having their pets in the front office was a bit off, especially when the cat farted and smelt the place out.
Our room was very dated, but we knew that when we booked in so it wasn't a surprise. It was a surprise though to find we had to slept in single beds, it had two rooms and there were four single beds which was a big weird.
The room was dirty, we found rubbish from what looked like a party underneath one of the beds, cans and wrappers and dead bugs everywhere. Yuck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen l, Owner at Tudor Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
I am truely sorry that you found your unit dirty-no excuse but it was an extremely busy week-end(world cup rugby) and your unit obviously missed vaccuming. The room is set up for groups of 4 individuals. We have only owned the motel for 6 months and are trying hard to upgrade and refurbish the units. And hey kittens are like babies you dont always know what they're going to do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#44 of 62 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#49 of 62 in Hamilton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Point Motel
Lake Point Motel
#18 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Motor Lodge

Property: Tudor Motor Lodge
Address: 24 - 26 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Motor Lodge is an older style motel, situated 7 mins walking distance of Hamilton CBD, 10 mins walk to hospital and clinics and close to 2 major supermarkets. Our units, though not modern, are clean, tidy and affordable. We have special rates for groups and extended stays. We are pet friendly and allow well behaved pets to stay with you in your unit. We are currently in the process of upgrading and hope to have completed all units by Jan 2012 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tudor Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing