We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Microtel Backpackers Hamilton
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Ulster Lodge Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
    US$74
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$88
    US$76
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lake Point Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
    US$82
    US$71
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$93
    US$86
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Stadium Motel(Hamilton)
    US$95
    US$85
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Asure Barclay Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
    US$89
    US$85
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$71
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    US$70
    US$68
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (62)
    Filter reviews
    62 results
    Traveller rating
    12
    14
    19
    11
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    12
    14
    19
    11
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspak n savespent two nightscomfortable bedhosteltoilettvlaundry
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    40 - 45 of 62 reviews
    Reviewed 13 September 2011

    I was only in Hamilton for one night as a stop-over between desitinations and thought "How bad can it be?" Haha, oh it can be very bad!

    The guy at reception was nice and even carried my bag when showing me to my room, but after that it was just dismal. My room (a single with a bathroom shared with one other which was not occupied) was about the size of the cells at the Old Melbourne Gaol and was very dirty. The bottom sheet had hairs on it and the floor didn't look to have been vaccuumed in a month. I resorted to caccooning myself in the clean top sheet to sleep, luckily it wasn't a cold night.

    The kitchen was disguting. I used only the microwave and even that was a stretch for me; I stuck to eating with my own camping utensils.

    Do not stay here unless you're a unhygienic slob yourself.

    • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank i_love_royal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 December 2010

    We had a group staying for one night in Hamilton.
    Rooms were basic and clean, thats all we needed. so perfect for us.
    Microlet was in a great location, but we got no sleep due to the noise. People came and went throughout the night, every movement and converstaion was heard!
    Rooms advertised as air conditioned - Completely untrue. We had to open the main door to get any air in.

    Would recommend if you staying one night for a stopover, but not long term, or if you want to get any sleep!

    • Stayed: December 2010
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Travel2bheard
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 December 2010

    we arrived microtel around 10pm, the stuff was friendly. there were people partying at the back yard. luckily they went away pretty soon. we stayed in a double room, it was pretty clean (not for hotel quality, but good enough for the money i've paid). shampoo and soap were provided. the water quality was really nice. the TV in our room was not working probably but we had a good night sleep.
    it;s recommended by us i think, at least you can have a good sleep.

    • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank rayg50
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 September 2010

    After reading the last review thought better add a review as I felt it was a great place to stay was there for 4 nights and my linen was clean fresh, rooms were serviced daily the staff were helpful, friendly and funny.

    The rooms are small but have everything I need and that didn't put me off as it is a modern hostel with good lounge. Hostel has just had a major refurbishment and is looking good, nice and vibrant.

    I'd recomend it thanks microtel for the good stay.

    • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hoodie83
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 August 2010

    It was a major disappointment. The room was as small as 3 square meter. all the beddings were dusty, stinky, dirty, and totally disgusting. the corridor was narrow and dirty with construction material left on the ground. There was no heater in the room and when I asked for one, the staff said not all the rooms have heater. We stayed for 3 nights there was no single change of any thing (sheets, rubbish, ...) . The staff couldn't even confirm my reservaion so he asked me to login to my personal email address and show him the confirmation email I received from YHA (Youth Hostel Association).
    The room was so dusty that I gut sick and couldn't breath.

    • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank skimath
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews