We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspen Manor Motel
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Located in a reasonably quiet area of town the Aspen Manor provides a good night's sleep and a homely asmosphere. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at ease. Nice place to keep in mind! Jan van Houten

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanvanHouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    44
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
32
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had booked for a few separate days but moved elsewhere after one stay as the room was a bit tired and the shower room a bit cold and unwelcoming. There are better places nearby at the same price. We didn't have breakfast here so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We've just returned from our RWC visit and Aspen Manor Motel is a nicely detailed and well- looked after place to stay. We had a spa room and breakfast was extra and we enjoyed the service.
June and Joe are great hosts and they do keep it real. The spa was wonderful and the room is smartly designed and functional as is the bathroom. It's located 10 minutes walk to the CBD and there is a bus in if you need transport. There are great cafes a block away.
If you want to be part of the RWC but want a quiet place to stay, this is the place to go for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velogiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We recently booked this motel and had a booking confirmation with a price for 6 people (3 adults, 3 children) in the family unit. When we went to pay the manager tried to charge us almost double the quoted price, saying that price was only for 2 people - even though 6 people were clearly stated on the confimation booking. He became very aggressive and quite rude when we refused to pay the extra amount. Also while staying there, we had no hot water at all in the room and when we asked about this we were told that the hotel was busy and the hot water had been used. We had to wait until the following morning to get some hot water. This is not good enough. Very disappointed with the service and treatment we received. The motel management were not very helpful; nor were they people friendly. Would not recommend Aspen Manor at all - way nicer, larger, cheaper and friendlier motels in Hamilton!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in the spa unit, and loved it. It is pricey for just one night ($170) but it was immaculate, with flat screen tvs in both the bedroom and lounge, very tastefully decorated (none of those tacky blue and yellow motel bedspreads or curtains that so often feature) and with a comfortable bed. The spa pool in the room was great! Couldn't say anything bad about it really, except that it's priced a bit high for us. We'll definitely be back next time we want to treat ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Court Motor Lodge
Albert Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Manor Motel

Property: Aspen Manor Motel
Address: 209 Grey Street | Hamilton East, Hamilton 3216, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Manor is situated in Hamilton's leafy "east side" and is within easy walking distance to an interesting array of shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and park. The motel boasts 31 spacious units, all ground floor entry with parking directly outside each door. Units are serviced daily, have Sky digital TV and broadband internet access. The motel is situated on a regular bus service route. Additional facilities include: Room service breakfasts Guest laundry Business facilities Conference / meeting room Larger parking for coaches/boats. Aspen Manor is close to: Hamilton Gardens (800m) Southern Cross Hospital (800m) Hamilton City Centre (1.5Kms) University of Waikato (3km) Claudelands Event Centre (2km) Close to State Highway 1 south, allowing easy access to Hamilton Airport and Cambridge We look forward to welcoming you! We know you will enjoy your stay and return again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing