We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but overall inconsistent rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspen Manor Motel
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Pretty good but overall inconsistent rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was my first stay at Aspen Manor Motel and it was mostly good. My family stayed in another room, and it was obvious that we got the better deal than them. The room we stayed in was well equipped, clean and tidy - although a little old. However a long length mirror was lacking (we were going to a wedding so it would have been good to check the appearance fully!!) It was spacious for a studio room, and we were pleased that the bed had heated blankets considering how surprisingly cold it can get on a Hamilton night in June! There was also a heater in the room, and the curtains were insulated ones. So when we arrived home it was nice and cosy. The bathroom was clean, although a couple of extra towels would have been nice (as well as better toiletries - no shower cap or body lotion, only soup and shampoo). The kitchen was inside a cupboard, but it had everything we needed for one night, I think my family's room didn't have a coffee perculator - but we did.

Overall Aspen Manor Motel was pretty good - it was a shame that my family's room wasn't as nice and spacious, and didn't have all the amenities required, even though ours did.

Room Tip: The studio rooms seem to be best (better rooms for 2 persons)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    45
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
35
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just spent a night at the Aspen Manor and it was good for us as we were attending a wedding and needed something on that side of Hamilton. Our family party had a one bedroom unit and a studio unit. The studio seemed more appealing somehow - just seemed cosy and warm and modern. The one bedroom wasn't as modern and was a bit tired. A couple of minor gripes are there is no coffee plunger, just cheap nasty instant coffee and no full length mirror. For the price paid - these should be available. Sadly the mirror in the living room was above the single bed and was too high to be of much use. All it would take would be for it to be moved to a more suitable wall space and it would solve one of the problems. Housekeeping also walked in at 8.15am the morning after the wedding - waking everyone! Not sure why? The hosts kindly allowed us to park after we'd checked out so that we could walk to nearby Grey Street Kitchen for brunch - which was excellent. We also ate at Babacanoush which is also within walking distance, and was great. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Studio units are nice. Modern, compact and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have stayed here several times and never had a bad experience. Rooms are nice, and the slightly offbeat but lovely owners always seem to be improving and updating the rooms. My last stay was very comfortable. Had a room far away from Grey St so it was very quiet. 2 minute stroll to many take aways and restaurants so you can take your pick. Situated in the south east, which is not the most popular side of town, but convenient for most travellers.

Room Tip: Its usually pretty quiet at night but if you are a light sleeper ask for a unit far away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Arrived to a welcome of - Do you have a booking? Was aksed what milk I would like and given the key to the room.

We had paid $170 for a 1 bedroomed spa room - On using the spa, which is in the dark corner of your bedroom we found the jets to be pretty weak and useless - not enough pressure? No bubbles. So paying the extra $50 for a room with a spa was not worth it.

Double bed in main bedroom with spa then a single bed in the living area. Had basic sky channels. Tv in living area and bedroom.

Unit was very clean, but found the furniture to look very basic. The actually colouring of the unit could be cheered up with some bright colours as it's feels and looks very drab.

Toilet and shower area looked plastic and had a cheap feel about it.

Cooking facilities of a hob and a microwave, fridge and some crockery included.

Internet was given - 100MB free but after looking briefly at 5 sites - BBC news, tripadvisor, Sky sports, Aussie open and digital spy - hardly high data eaters. I got a message up that the 100MB had ran out and would now start charging!

Seems the cap was much lower than 100MB as got this limit at other places and it lasted a few days including browsing and webmail.

Quiet enough motel - rooms are well off the road and you can't hear any traffic.

We drove around to Clyde shopping centre to Hell pizza - yum!

Free car parking for 1 car outside of your unit. There is a security firm that patrols the motel at night.

Unit info folder has loads of local menu's for you.

Overall a decent stopover - but don't waste the extra $ on a spa unit - it's really not worth it!

Room Tip: Don't waste the extra $ on a spa unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We picked the family room which was on two floors. Two bedrooms upstairs and a bed downstairs in the lounge. We were three ladies so all required our own room which was perfect. Very clean and modern with a dishwasher fridge and microwave. On the whole a pleasant stay with welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Located in a reasonably quiet area of town the Aspen Manor provides a good night's sleep and a homely asmosphere. The hosts go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at ease. Nice place to keep in mind! Jan van Houten

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanvanHouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had booked for a few separate days but moved elsewhere after one stay as the room was a bit tired and the shower room a bit cold and unwelcoming. There are better places nearby at the same price. We didn't have breakfast here so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Manor Motel

Property: Aspen Manor Motel
Address: 209 Grey Street | Hamilton East, Hamilton 3216, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Manor is situated in Hamilton's leafy "east side" and is within easy walking distance to an interesting array of shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and park. The motel boasts 31 spacious units, all ground floor entry with parking directly outside each door. Units are serviced daily, have Sky digital TV and broadband internet access. The motel is situated on a regular bus service route. Additional facilities include: Room service breakfasts Guest laundry Business facilities Conference / meeting room Larger parking for coaches/boats. Aspen Manor is close to: Hamilton Gardens (800m) Southern Cross Hospital (800m) Hamilton City Centre (1.5Kms) University of Waikato (3km) Claudelands Event Centre (2km) Close to State Highway 1 south, allowing easy access to Hamilton Airport and Cambridge We look forward to welcoming you! We know you will enjoy your stay and return again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing