We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspen Manor Motel
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Paeroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

2 nights accommodation had been booked here for me by the club employing me, so I knew little about the place before arriving quite late in the evening. I had rung to check that the office would still be open and they had stayed open for me, and brought along my Continental breakfast tray for me shortly after I arrived. A large and excellent breakfast both days, with a good kitchen for tea/coffee/toast. The unit was well back from the road, and very quiet with no road noise which is always important to me. It was spotless and very comfortable and modern looking, though the bare wood dining chairs were rather cold to sit on!! Good to have free wifi, easy to connect.

The only thing that could have been improved was the heating - an electric heater stored in the hanging cupboard space. A heatpump would have been much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon L, Owner at Aspen Manor Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Thank you for the helpful comments, we are always looking at ways of making our guests stay more comfortable and enjoyable. There is a heater in the cupboard which can easily be moved around and more are available on request if needed. Also, if we are asked for more blankets we are more than happy to oblige. Obviously heat pumps would be the ideal answer to the cold and we are looking into all options. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Simon and Lornae Lowe
Aspen Manor Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    44
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
32
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

....Until, for the first time, the new owners DID NOT rebook our usual Room 12 They forgot. They didnt seem to care. We are gutted as there is no other accommodation in town due to the Mystery Creek Field Days. I'm so disappointed as we have stayed there for years, had the same room, same routine. Now it's all off and the new owners have booked with someone else instead of us. I would like them to correct the error they made and get us a room! So disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
228 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Company put me up here. Great reviews from others. Single person in unit. Large queen bed to myself, large open shower facilities. Absolutely spotless. Easy wifi free, limited to 24hrs and or 300mb. Quiet from any road noises. Lovely cooked breakfast, continental or full cooked. Easy parking even with visitor park as well. With so many motels to chose from, I am glad admin did the choosing. I was well rested, well fed. Easy 5 minute walk to shops or restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mykara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Amazing motel! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff were friendly and polite and the room was clean and very tidy. Loved the modern feel of the place. The only thing that was a bit "eh" was the lights outside the sliding door being so bright. Otherwise an awesome weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Fouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife & I were looking at staying in a reasonably upmarket motel near Hamilton Gardens and that is exactly what we got.
Well laid out motel, not on top of each other,very clean tidy and well appointed rooms,bathroom kitchen area a tad smaller than I had hoped but did the job.Clean well maintianed laundry and within walking distance to several eating establishments,parking directly in front of our unit so ver yhappy with our choice

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed her three times now and each time the rooms have been spotlessly clean. The bed is very comfortable and pillows likewise. Would definitely stay here again. Having free Wifi while staying is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Disappointed with this motel. It really was just a place to stay, rather sparse and cramped for 3 people and only just passable. It is in a good location, close to the Gardens and reasonably quiet but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: They are all the same!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
1.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#15 of 64 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Court Motor Lodge
Albert Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Manor Motel

Property: Aspen Manor Motel
Address: 209 Grey Street | Hamilton East, Hamilton 3216, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Manor is situated in Hamilton's leafy "east side" and is within easy walking distance to an interesting array of shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and park. The motel boasts 31 spacious units, all ground floor entry with parking directly outside each door. Units are serviced daily, have Sky digital TV and broadband internet access. The motel is situated on a regular bus service route. Additional facilities include: Room service breakfasts Guest laundry Business facilities Conference / meeting room Larger parking for coaches/boats. Aspen Manor is close to: Hamilton Gardens (800m) Southern Cross Hospital (800m) Hamilton City Centre (1.5Kms) University of Waikato (3km) Claudelands Event Centre (2km) Close to State Highway 1 south, allowing easy access to Hamilton Airport and Cambridge We look forward to welcoming you! We know you will enjoy your stay and return again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing