We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of Mill Lodge

Mill Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Lodge
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We booked in for 2 nights recently so we could attend friend's wedding anniversary. The owner was very helpful & we even got choc bars in the fridge. The room was comfortable but a bit tired looking. The owner told us they are doing the units up gradually.
Everything was clean and tidy & towels were changed on the 2nd day. We said not to bother changing them for the 3rd day...but they would have done if we hadn't said anything.
When we booked for another night, we got a cheaper overall rate for the 3 nights. Very close to supermarket & KFC, and just a few blocks to central Hamilton.
We were very satisfied & enjoyed chatting with the owner.....a very nice approachable young man.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

this room was definately not worth the $170 that they had hiked the price to for the fielddays week. stayed here for 4 nights, they didnt change the sheets once (not the normal once every 2nd night) the shower was not cleaned prior to me going in there, there was still hair on the wall and used soap in the shower.
as said in previous comments the place is definately in need of a good make over, very dated, and basic..not even a phone in the room...
30dollars for a cooked breakfast is over the top too

Room Tip: dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boru_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at Mill Lodge for the first two nights of our three week stay in NZ. On the upside, it was right opposite a big supermarket and petrol station (and really near the stadium which was very handy for the World Cup match we saw) but the room really needed a facelift and some modernising. We weren't particularly enamoured by Hamilton anyway but the motel did little to lift the spirits - it did the job of giving us a place to rest our heads but little more.

However, it has recently been taken over by new owners so hopefully they'll give it a lick of paint which would do wonders.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank review_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

From the spotted mildewy mirror in the bathroom, to the peeling paint on the shower ceiling this lodge was in dire need of some attention. One good thing was that the lighting was great. The linen was clean and the bed was reasonable comfortable but at $110 a night it was hardly good value

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MES0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gardena Court Motel
#35 of 63 in Hamilton
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
VR Hamilton Hotel
VR Hamilton Hotel
#40 of 63 in Hamilton
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
#15 of 63 in Hamilton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Lodge

Address: 135 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £45 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just two minutes from Hamilton's City Centre Mill Lodge is a comfortable, convenient, clean, calm, and cozy Motel on a budget. The motel offers a range of accommodation to suit the needs and budget of any traveler. We have 10 serviced units available with a mix of Studios, Spa Studios, 1-Bedroom, 2-Bedroom, and Spa 2-Bedroom. Mill Lodge is a spacious, comfortable, well-ventilated, good value for money motel, with free parking in front of your unit. Also on offer is Sky TV with Sky sports 1, Sky sports 2, Trackside 1, Movies Premiere, BBC news, plus Freeview. Free ultra-fast fibre internet/Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms. Mill is a stones' throw away from restaurants, cafes, Petrol Station, Pak n Save, Countdown, KFC, Subway, St. Pierre's Sushi, and The Cheesecake Shop. It's walking distance to Seddon Park Cricket Grounds, Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, Hamilton Tennis & Squash Club Courts, Waikato River, Speights Ale House, and Claudelands Events Centre. Sky City Casino is also in the vicinity. Centrally situated it's an excellent place to stop over whether you are heading to Middle-Earth-Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, Hamilton Gardens, Waitomo black water rafting, Waikato River Explorer, Auckland, Gisborne, Tauranga, Raglan, Taupo, Rotorua, Coromandel, or just want an overnight stay. Mill lodge has been refurbished and re-opened under new management with a view to offering a top class service to our clients. It's the coziest most central motel to fit your budget in Hamilton. Book directly with us and get cheaper rates ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing