We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Asure Barclay Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asure Barclay Motel
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Barclay two times, our very first days in New Zealand. First my husband, Alex, was there in August for a week. He came from Thailand and after several months in a warm country had to go to all the struggle of the transition into cold, including getting used to his new closed shoes after all-time slippers))) Neil, the owner, sorted him wonderfully out, letting his own soft shoes as an amergency and giving plenty of useful information. At that time, Alex picked up the best unit, 22, for our future stay in November.

In November 2013 we came as a family with 2 young children and stayed at Barclay for more than one months while looking for our own house to rent. The unit 22 was just as comfortable and Neil and Margaret and all the staff as nice and welcoming, as we would be hosted by our best friends. The kitchen is handy and nicely equipped, plenty of space, big outside area, playground. The staff took really good care of us, brought some toys and books for kids, helped with advises about house searching etc. Neil took our 4 y.o. boy to help him with putting down the flags. And I just adored Margaret's roses !!

The location is very comfortable, we miss it sometimes ) We didn't have any noise from the Ulster street at our unit. The riverside walk is just 10 minutes walking away, a supermarket and the free shuttle bus to the city center a bit further, but everything was very manageable with 2 young kids. Really, we couldn't find a better place for our first weeks in Hamilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinakom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your coments.
We say this is your home away from home & as yours was so far away it is nice to be able to help when the occasion arose. Thanks again for your lovely comments. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Asure Barclay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have stayed at the Barclay Motel several times and have always been impressed by the comfort, cleanliness and friendly service. The whole place is well maintained and the units are very well appointed with good quality fittings and air conditioning. The owners give the place a really homely feel with beautiful plants and rosebeds. Good value for money and convenient for the city centre, this is one of the best motels we have stayed at in New Zealand.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want, all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. Some of the apartm...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your comments. We put a lot of effort into making our guests stay with us memorable so your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We travel a lot and stay in many motels and this would have to be the cleaness place we have ever stayed in. Staff accommodating with out been over the top will recommend. You can tell the place is well cared for by the garden beds and grounds. Especially the rose beds.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truffelett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thanks for these comments. We try hard to maintan an excellent stardard & it is warming when this is acknowleged. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We booked the Studio King Spa Suite and couldn't have asked for more. Everything was clean and tidy and the room to move was over and above our expectations. Thank you to Neil and Margaret for making us feel welcome. We will not hesitate to recommend the Barclay Motel to our family and friends travelling to Hamilton.
Thanking you - Ian & Pam Thompson, Newman, Western Australia

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thanks for these comments folks.
We do appreciate comments that acknowledge the effort we go to behind the scenes to make your stay pleasurable. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Thank you so much for sending my daughter's blanket to us in Australia after she left in there on our last night in NZ!
Loved the spacious apartment and lawned area for kids to run. We had the two bedroom apartment and it felt like a house with large living and dining area and a separate kitchen!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you so much for your comments.
All part of the service. We know some of these items can mean so much to some. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at this motel so we could go and watch the mighty All Blacks play. The fact the nights accomodation were extremely overpriced due to high demand, to be charged on our credit card twice we could understand. However after a phone call to inform the Management of the fact and still over a month later, and no credit to our card, we are not happy with at all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank SueMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

We have just seen this comment.
We sincerely apologise for this situation. As can be seen by our other positive trip advisor comments this is not our usual standard of service. This was a difficult time with an illness and subsequent death of a key staff member and unfortunately the matter was not handled efficiently. We are dealing directly with the customer to rectifiy the situation and make up for this slip in our usual standards. Thanks, Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

10 Southlanders arrived very late into Hamilton. Margaret & Neil accomodated us at very short notice & without any hassle. There hospitality exceeded exspectations if ur ever in Gore look us up guys. We are the SBW crew. lol. PS, Our booked accomodation fell through.!!!

Room Tip: See Margaret shes outstanding at her job. Rooms on the ground floor are way cooler for the warm clim...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thanks for these comments folks. We to were pleased we could help all of you at that late hour. Your were a great group of people & a pleasure to have with us. Look forward to seeing you all again some time. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.8 mi away
Boundary Court Motor Inn
Boundary Court Motor Inn
#20 of 63 in Hamilton
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.5 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
BK's Settlers Motor Lodge
#15 of 63 in Hamilton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asure Barclay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asure Barclay Motel

Address: 280 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Asure Barclay Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asure Barclay Motel is located just minutes away from the Hamilton central business district and close to the Waikato Stadium. Family friendly and safe, Asure Barclay Motel provides an environment for total relaxation for adults and hours of fun for the kids. We offer a full-size solar heated swimming pool for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asure Barclay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing