We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asure Barclay Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motor Inn(Hamilton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
19
22
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
22
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandminute walktwo nightsspaunitmotelreceptiontidyfacilitiescomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Barclay two times, our very first days in New Zealand. First my husband, Alex, was there in August for a week. He came from Thailand and after several months in a warm country had to go to all the struggle of the transition into cold, including getting used to his new closed shoes after all-time slippers))) Neil, the owner, sorted him wonderfully out, letting his own soft shoes as an amergency and giving plenty of useful information. At that time, Alex picked up the best unit, 22, for our future stay in November.

In November 2013 we came as a family with 2 young children and stayed at Barclay for more than one months while looking for our own house to rent. The unit 22 was just as comfortable and Neil and Margaret and all the staff as nice and welcoming, as we would be hosted by our best friends. The kitchen is handy and nicely equipped, plenty of space, big outside area, playground. The staff took really good care of us, brought some toys and books for kids, helped with advises about house searching etc. Neil took our 4 y.o. boy to help him with putting down the flags. And I just adored Margaret's roses !!

The location is very comfortable, we miss it sometimes ) We didn't have any noise from the Ulster street at our unit. The riverside walk is just 10 minutes walking away, a supermarket and the free shuttle bus to the city center a bit further, but everything was very manageable with 2 young kids. Really, we couldn't find a better place for our first weeks in Hamilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinakom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your coments.
We say this is your home away from home & as yours was so far away it is nice to be able to help when the occasion arose. Thanks again for your lovely comments. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have stayed at the Barclay Motel several times and have always been impressed by the comfort, cleanliness and friendly service. The whole place is well maintained and the units are very well appointed with good quality fittings and air conditioning. The owners give the place a really homely feel with beautiful plants and rosebeds. Good value for money and convenient for the city centre, this is one of the best motels we have stayed at in New Zealand.

Room Tip: It depends on what you want, all the rooms we have stayed in have been excellent. Some of the apartments have private courtyards.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your comments. We put a lot of effort into making our guests stay with us memorable so your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We travel a lot and stay in many motels and this would have to be the cleaness place we have ever stayed in. Staff accommodating with out been over the top will recommend. You can tell the place is well cared for by the garden beds and grounds. Especially the rose beds.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truffelett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thanks for these comments. We try hard to maintan an excellent stardard & it is warming when this is acknowleged. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We booked the Studio King Spa Suite and couldn't have asked for more. Everything was clean and tidy and the room to move was over and above our expectations. Thank you to Neil and Margaret for making us feel welcome. We will not hesitate to recommend the Barclay Motel to our family and friends travelling to Hamilton.
Thanking you - Ian & Pam Thompson, Newman, Western Australia

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thanks for these comments folks.
We do appreciate comments that acknowledge the effort we go to behind the scenes to make your stay pleasurable. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Thank you so much for sending my daughter's blanket to us in Australia after she left in there on our last night in NZ!
Loved the spacious apartment and lawned area for kids to run. We had the two bedroom apartment and it felt like a house with large living and dining area and a separate kitchen!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Owner at Asure Barclay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Thank you so much for your comments.
All part of the service. We know some of these items can mean so much to some. Neil & Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews