We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with modern decor”
Review of Camelot On Ulster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot On Ulster
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location with modern decor”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The proprietor's were very friendly, we arrived a little late in the evening, but it was not an issue for them. We also required extra parking as we had a fairly large trailer with us, this again was no problem at all. The rooms were lovely and clean, the decor quite modern with lovely fresh colour accents complimenting natural tones. Bed was comfortable and there was no street noise, as it is situated on a very busy road. We had a lovely cooked breakfast which was well priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Nat,

Thank you so much for telling others about your experience with us by writing a positive review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us were pleased with our decor. We know we are not the newest motel in town but are continually renovating to improve our rooms and surrounding facilities. We are currently in the process of installing new kitchens in all the rooms, upgrading the bathrooms and repainting all the interiors. Hopefully if you return to stay with us next time you are in Hamilton you will notice some of these changes.

Great to know that you were impressed with our friendly service, ample off-street parking, central location and room-service breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the future. Once again thank you for your review. We really appreciate it when our guests take a few minutes of their time to let others about their experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    72
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
80
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Loved staying at Camelot, but the bed was too soft. Apart from that was lovely :) Our cooked breakfast was delicious and was a great start to the day. Great customer service they were very helpful :) overall experience was to satisfaction and would book and stay again if needed. The online booking was fast and so easy also :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAlders46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for the great review you have written about our property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and it was a positive one. We apologise about your finding the bed too soft. It is very hard to have beds that suit everyone. We do get a lot of very great comments about how much our guests love our beds. If you do stay with us again though let us know that you prefer a firmer bed and we can accommodate this. Our new pocket spring beds have one side which is firmer than the other so we can flip the mattress for you.

Great to hear that you also enjoyed our cooked breakfast and that the booking process through our website was simple and fast.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great motel loved our stay the bed was so cosy. Enjoyed the spa bath and the kitchen well equipped.
Good location, we found it very quiet.Short walk to town and the supermarket.Heat pump a good idea.

Room Tip: The bed in the room was fantastic so cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for writing us such a positive review.

We are thrilled to hear that you loved your bed and had a great sleep! We get such great feedback about the new pocket spring beds we have put in the rooms that we feel they were well worth the little extra expense.

Great to hear to that you enjoyed your in-room spa bath, our central location to the city and the quietness of our rooms which are away from the busy Ulster Street. We too feel that installing the heat-pump / air-con units last year are a great asset for our rooms.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great place to stay,
we have stayed here a few times and we never leave dissapointed.
the staff are friendly and the room is clean and perfect, and FREE FAST internet!!!!!!
close to town and not too far from the base which is a great shopping complex with an awesome cinema!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank benni2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi there,

Thanks you for writing us a fantastic review! We are glad that you enjoy staying at our motel and return time and time again when you visit Hamilton.

Great to know that you find our complimentary WiFi service fast. We know how annoying it can be when internet connections are slow!

As you may have noticed in the recent times you have stayed with us we a slowly working through numerous renovations. Hopefully the next time you come you will notice something more we have done to improve your room.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Mark & Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

All ok. We had a discounted room. Clean and warm but old and tired. Eg Remote control broken bits, peeling paint on windowsills, very old school shower. The front of motel looked modern and nice but our unit didn't match this. Still it wasn't expensive or noisy

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notamoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we strive to make every guest's experience with us a positive one.

We realise that we are an older motel however are currently in the process of carrying out numerous renovations to improve the standard of our rooms and facilities. At present we are replacing all of the kitchens and modernising the bathrooms. We have also nearly replaced all of the beds in the rooms. And the painter is slowly making his way around painting all of the interiors.

Unfortunately these renovations take time when you have 40 rooms to do. We apologise that you did not get to be in one of the rooms which have already been renovated.

If you choose to return to us in the future hopefully you will notice all of the renovations which will have taken place and enjoy your stay.

We do appreciate the feedback and will take on board your comments as we strive to be the best we can be.

Kind Regards,
Alix & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Awesome friendly service, motel was easy to find and drive into. Very spacious rooms, (3 bdrm apartment) especially with 7 adults. Nice and clean rooms which were well stocked. Will definitely stay here again when in Hamilton. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your great review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

No doubt when you do return you will notice changes to the rooms as we currently in the process of replacing all the kitchens, modernising the bathrooms and repainting all the interiors. We wish everything could be done yesterday but unfortunately when you have 40 rooms these things take time.

If you have any suggestions which you believe would enhance our motel we would be more than happy to hear from you.

Kind Regards,
Alix & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Perfect location for the Waikato stadium, with plenty of choices of places to eat nearby. Definitely worth booking for future trips into Hamilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your highly rated review. We appreciate the feedback we receive from all of our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again in the future! Hopefully if we do see you again you will enjoy your stay even more as we are currently in the process of replacing all out kitchens, modernising all the bathrooms and repainting the interiors. We wish all these renovations could be done yesterday but unfortunately good things take time.

If you have any suggestions which you believe would improve our motel we would love to hear from you.

Enjoy the rest of the rugby season.

Kind Regards,
Alix & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.2 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot On Ulster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot On Ulster

Property: Camelot On Ulster
Address: 231 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand (Formerly Camelot Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot On Ulster 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot on Ulster is a family owned and operated motel. New manager Mark Boe fondly remembers growing up at Camelot in the days when his parents built and ran the motel. Now Mark is back with his partner Alix Stevens, and together they are proud and excited to welcome you to Camelot where they endeavour to give you a warm and comfortable stay with that special family feel. Camelot on Ulster is conveniently situated in central Hamilton. It is just a short distance from Centre Place Mall and other central city retail stores, Te Awa the Base, and walking distance to the Waikato Stadium. If you're looking for evening entertainment, Camelot on Ulster is close to the Skycity Casino, three movie theatres and several nightclubs and bars. And if it's dining out you want then there are many restaurants nearby or if dining in it's just a short walk to several supermarkets. Having recently upgraded our rooms and facilities, Camelot on Ulster provides modern, clean and spacious accommodation that is affordable. We offer friendly service for all travellers: from overnight guests, business travellers, families and those requiring long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camelot On Ulster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing