We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay in Hamilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park View Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When choosing somewhere to stay in Hamilton it was pretty much a pinstick but I was glad we stayed at Park View - especially when we realised that New Zealand were playing a one day cricket international just down the road well within walking distance. I did ask for an early check in if possible as the game was due to start at 2pm and would more than likely finish after the last check in time of 9pm - I was emailed to advise that this might not be possible which is fair enough if all the rooms have been occupied the night before - as it happens our room was ready early enough which was great and we were even provided some milk on arrival - we then got a phone call telling us that as we had booked so early on in 2013 we were due a reduction in price which saved us 50 dollars - not something you would get in the UK !! Room was pleasant and clean with a spa bath and toiletries provided ( always handy ) - could not really fault it to be honest and if we do ever come to Hamilton again we would certainly stay here if it was available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballhells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear footballhells. Thank you for the fabulous review you placed recently on your stay at Park View Motor Lodge. We are very proud of our Motel, our staff and level of service standards they deliver. Our commitment to the wonderful people that stay at our property does not end there. We are available 24 hrs a day and pride ourselves in our working ethics, credibility and the reputation we have built up over 18 years operating various properties around the globe. Thank you again! Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Reception was cool, and unfriendly.
Expensive for what it offered.
Bed was hard. Air conditioner noisy. Dirty carpet. Toilet w/c area cramped to accomodate large bath.
Management should monitor and control noisy guests who congregate late at night in the noisy courtyard where their voices echo. Sleep quality poor because of this.
Annoying.

Room Tip: Choose room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulwell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Bulwell13. We are very disappointed after receiving your feedback on your recent stay at our Motel. We commit ourselves every day in exceeding our customer's expectations and we apologize that we did not do so in your case. I do wish you had given more info on your reception during check-in, which would have assisted us in training of our front desk staff. Our price, however, compares favorably on most nights with properties with much lower star ratings than ourselves. We have addressed some of your housekeeping concerns with our housekeeping team, but we do feel that your problem with the noisy guests could have been sorted if you alerted us to the noise at the time. Our after hrs number is on the phone in the room and every guest has the right to alert us to anything that disturb their comfort during the night, in fact we insist on it!! Our commitment to our guests is for you to have a memorable stay, but you have to give us a fair chance on delivering that promise by communicating any issue you experience that negatively influence your stay at our Motel. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A great place to stay. Nice size rooms and very clean. Has everything you need from cutlery to a hair drier. Has a washing machine and drier on site and an indoor pool and spa which are both heated. Every room has a separate shower and spa bath in them. Only thing wrong was the duty manager (Harry) He was not very helpful and when we went to order breakfast for 5 people in 2 rooms, he said he can only cook 2 meals at a time. times were 8, 8.15 and 8.30. We have stayed at a lot of places and never been told this. Said he couldn't even do 3 for 1 room and 2 for the other room 15 minutes apart. At $20 pp for breakfast he turned down $100. So if you don';t plan on getting breakfast for more than 2 people at a time, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 1 night with two rooms. Arrived a little early 40mins and were told to come back after 2pm. Not would you like to wait as your room is half an hour. Go away and come back!! The rooms were fantastic, roomy and clean, the pool and spa were great for a quick dip. Decided to order breakfast for the following morning however as there were 5 of us got told they could only do 2 breakfasts at one time!! This meant 2 being delivered at 8am, 2 at 8.15 and 1 at 8.30. Not great service from the manager. Shame as the hotel was perfect. However when the booking was made the staff member was very helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Steve N.
Thank you for your review on your stay at Park View Motor Lodge. Check-in times are explained when reservations are made and they are there for a reason. A early check-in can be arranged prior to arrival but can not always be guaranteed. It will all depend on how busy we were the night before. As for the breakfast delivery, with a number of other rooms that had already ordered breakfast for the same time, it was impossible for us to do an additional 5 at the same time that you requested......and the only way that we could accommodate your breakfast request did not meet your requirements. We do however appreciate your feedback, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay regardless. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

being a family of five (3 teens) finding rooms to accommodate us is challenging. We loved our stay and were very comfortable in these clean new rooms. was a perfect, quiet location just close enough to Hamilton attractions. we did have a car.

Room Tip: we were in room 12, i believe and this was roomy and perfect for five of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Mcgben5.
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are so glad that we were able to provide you with the facilities that fit your requirements. Accommodation for families are hard to find, as most of the city motels cater for a large corporate market. We have a selection of units that will satisfy most criteria and having the heated pool on site, makes for great entertainment for the kids! Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Once we were inside our room it was ok, however the location is a bit dismal. I thought we were going to have a view of a park, but actually our room faced the rugby stadium. Even with no game on and minimalist stadium lights on, our room was very light with all drapes closed.
In reading other reviews, it appears that this was not suited to our needs and was glad we were there only for one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We recently stayed one night in Hamilton on our way to points further north and had an excellent experience. Our room was very nice - well appointed, very comfortable and spotless. All of our needs were anticipated and catered to, and we really couldn't ask for anything more. It is hard to imagine a nicer place or better value for money, and we would highly recommend the Park View.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank good4trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: £76 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing