We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park View Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here one night recently and thought the Motel was very nice and modern - just a short walk to Waikato Stadium, so it is ideal if you are going to see a game there, but if you don't like Rugby it may be a bit noisy if you are staying there during a game..
We found the room to be spacious, well laid out with everything you would need.
The bed, although comfortable was quite low, so I am not sure how elderly people would get on getting in and out of the bed
There were plenty of channels on the TV and free wifi was a bonus.
The pool area was good, clean and the spa was nice
We stayed upstairs and didn't hear anything from the room underneath - some motels you can hear people in the room above or below you
Only downside was the toilet was not 100% clean, when we got there, but upon checkout the owners said they had been having trouble with their cleaners recently, so hopefully those problems have now been been fixed.

We would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Muffinz
Thank you for the review on your stay at Park View Motor Lodge recently. Our close proximity to the Waikato Stadium does make it ideal for attending the games. The heated pool on site is certainly a winner in everyone's books and having spa baths in every room is a huge bonus. Our housekeeping staff work tirelessly in maintaining high quality standards and I think that you may have misunderstood our reply to your complaint of your toilet. We do not have any trouble with our cleaning staff, but pledged to make the housekeeping staff aware of the problem that you experienced to make sure that something similar does not happen again.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really all you need for a roadtrip stop, clean spacious rooms and good location. One downside that we experienced, which we thought to not be acceptable for an 'overnight only' type of hotel catering to people on a road trip, is that reception closes early (I remember 9pm) with no chance to check in later. This could stress you a bit when you are on the road and e.g. Want to make a dinner stop or run into a traffic jam...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Georg H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Even though we close reception at 9pm, arriving outside office hours has never been an issue, we only need a phone call or an email from a guest to make the necessary arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family and I stayed in a family unit for one night over Easter. We were impressed with the well appointed rooms, modern decor and service. The motel is located just on the outskirts of the inner city area, and restaurants and entertainment just a short distance away. Apart from the wifi signal, which was a bit patchy at times, all the mod cons were great. It's certainly a good reliable choice for Hamilton accommodation, and I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Condwana80
Thank you for your fabulous review. We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recently stayed for the Waikato Balloon Festival and found the room to be clean and well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately we left our pillows behind when we left but the owner very kindly offered to bring them up with him when he came through Auckland last week. Even though it was a detour it was never a problem and I am very grateful to him for the extra effort he made to get our pillows back to us. As we had such a great time in Hamilton, including visiting the Gardens and Zoo I am sure we will be back and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Suzanne G
Thank you for staying with us during a special time of the Balloon Festival. Going through to Auckland to drop off your pillows was no problem at all as we were on our way north on our holiday anyway. We were very happy to save you the hassle of trying to get them back.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were recently in Hamilton as my wife was in hospital. We arrived late and the owner was very accommodating and left the room open for us so when we arrived we went straight in. The room was fantastic, very well presented, clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this motel and I will definitely take my wife there now she is on the mend :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Charles B.
Thank you for your great review. The issue of late arrival times have been mentioned by other reviewers and your review is testimony of the fact that with prior arrangement this is no problem at all. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay during a testing time with your wife in hospital. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to our motel.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Location was great for Hamilton and the surrounding area, quiet road - except if there is an event on at the Waikato stadium opposite. Not a problem as the owners were very helpful and we went to the rugby match that night! Rooms very good, comfortable and clean, heated pool as well and a spa bath in all the rooms. Will stay there again next time we are back in Hamilton.

Room Tip: Rooms 13,14 and 15 look out over the stadium but get booked quickly for big matches at the stadium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Norton H.
Thank you for your review on your stay at our motel. Our units are all fitted out with spa baths and the lovely heated pool is certainly a very popular attraction. Fortunately, on those game nights most people staying at the motel actually attend the game. What you have done was really remarkable. Instead of allowing the game day situation to affect you, you went along to watch the Chiefs play. Welcome to the Chiefs Supporters Club!!!!!
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening and was told that there were fully booked, so they had put me in a two bedroom suite, which I did not need. They were really pleasant and the room was very nice. I am not sure if every room has a hot tub, but the one I was in did. The room was well equipped and the internet coverage was fine. The location is right opposite the Chiefs stadium, so it might not be the best place to stay when there is a game on, as it could get noisy, but I do not know that for a fact. There is a nice restaurant / pub in walking distance, and a grocery and liquor store that is also walkable. The hotel is not near the center of Hamilton so be aware of that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkViewMotorLodge, Manager at Park View Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Nomolos.
Thank you for your review on Park View Motor Lodge. All our units are indeed fitted with spa baths and the internet provided is free of charge. We were also very happy to accommodate you in a larger unit as we did not have any studio units left for the night.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range: £77 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing