We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Waikato stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park View Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view of Waikato stadium”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

For a 5 star motor lodge I must say I was a little bit disappointed. The bed was excessively firm and the pillows uncomfortable. The building is directly opposite Waikato stadium which isn't the greatest view and something I should have paid much closer attention to when I looked at it's location. Thankfully for us there were no rugby matches on when we were there, but I would strongly suggest checking that before you book in case you're not a rugby fan and would prefer a good night sleep otherwise I could imagine noise/access could be a real pain. The room itself was an adequate size and overall I would say nothing flash. The buidling itself could do with a little TLC with a number of cracks on the exterior plaster work and stains on the mats that made the place look a little tatty.

The bathroom was a reasonable size and had a decent sized spa bath which was a nice touch. If only the rest of the room was done to the same level. The room had an LCD TV and a seperate stereo, both were modern and reception was excellent.

Front desk service was rather sterile and while efficient I didn't feel welcomed.

My rating has been done on the basis of this being a motor lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    36
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
60
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

On the positive side the reception was fine, it was quiet and rooms clean. The accommodation we found functional but depressing with a pokey poorly lit kitchen area and decor that may have looked good in the 70's. We had a depressing outlook over the parking lot. The Motel was not near anything of interest and was opposite a rugby stadium, at least no rugby was played during our stay.

How this rates as No1 in trip advisor I do not know. Probably fine for those on business but a real disappointment for us on our 40th Wedding Anniversary trip - pleased to leave after one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for one night. Fairly small proportions, but nice and modern and clean. Indoor heated pool was great - didn't use the spa pool at the time as it was colder than the pool. Kitchen area small, stovetop, microwave and fridge, but no oven. Bathroom had a spa bath, but we didn't get to use it. Pak n Save supermarket just around the corner. Would recommend. Would be great place to stay if attending a rugby game at Waikato stadium, is right opposite the gate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

This was our first night in NZ and were pleasantly surprised with the value for our dollar (compared to Australia) Arrived in pooring rain, but was warmly welcomed by the owners. We appreciated the small touches, especially the QUALITY tea, coffee, etc (not the run of mill labels) Beautiful beds, great TV etc. Considering the budget cost for our room we were impressed that there was a HEATED pool and spa. Lots of children around so it is popular with families. Lovely towels, soaps, etc. Very thoughtfully furnished for such a reasonably priced room. The room of course was spotless.
We congratulate the owners on providing a high quality room for such a low rate.
Ate at the Hamilton Casino which once again was amazing value for money.
If however one cannot cope with stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_AustraliaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

1. Beds were hard, uncomfortable, which complemented the awful pillows.
2. Neighbouring guests were obviously going to be trouble, and that proved the case They were drinking when we arrived in the afternoon and the noise only stopped when they went out on the town around 11PM. They made sure everyone except for our blissfully sleeping hosts, obviously, were alerted to their return and carried on partying from 3 until around 4:30AM..
3. Service from the hosts was not up to standard. Got told in the morning, "We told everyone we had a phone with us and to call if there were any problems." Seems like they forgot to tell us and other guests we spoke to...
The place is new, nicely furnished and clean, but our experience doesn't make us want to go back. A great place to visit if you're a low-life bogan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oolonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Park View Motor Lodge for two nights and I must say we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a one bedroom unit and it was just right for the three of us. We enjoyed all of the facilities and must say that the location would be excellent if you are planning on attending events at the Waikato Stadium. It is also around the corner from Dominio's, Liquor store, Pak 'n' Save, KFC and The Helm Restaurant so the location for me was really good. The only thing I would suggest is tables and chairs for the balcony and a bigger spa bath. But otherwise I cannot complain we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We tried Park View because of ithe reviews and shows as Number 1 on tripadvisor..so gathered it would be great...not so I'm afraid..have to be truthful and this is the first netral feedback have ever given.
1. No view whatsoever
2. Bed was as hard as an ironing board..so much so our sides hurt the next day
3. Lots of light coming in at night...we had to put a towel over the back window !
4. Very small spa bath compared to other motels we have stayed at and we stay at heaps...travel all the time
5. No balcony or patio area outside the room as other motels have to sit and relax outside
would recommend the Speights Ale House and Japur Walla Indian Resturant and The Londoner

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 63 in Hamilton
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#7 of 63 in Hamilton
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Motor Lodge

Property: Park View Motor Lodge
Address: 450 Tristram Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#8 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Park View Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park View Motor Lodge is located in a quiet area close to the Hamilton city centre. Facilities include a heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, free WiFi, in-home spa baths, Sky TV, and luxury king beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park View Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing