We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality of bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Poor quality of bed”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The spring for the bed is so bad that when i sit on it, i can feel the spring popping out of the bed. Can hardly sleep well at night. Location is really good, which is next to Skycity. The hotel has no other facilities.... just rooms to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui and for taking the time to post your feedback, it is through all feedback that we have an opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guests.
I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you found the bed uncomfortable. Please note that our hotel does have other facilities, we have a restaurant and bar with a lovely balcony over looking the Waikato River, although we do not have gym or pool, our guest do have access to the gym, spa & sauna located at Novotel Tainui just across the road, it is a shame that you did not have a chance to use any of these facilities.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    428
    201
    56
    24
See reviews for
162
353
107
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porirua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our second stay here when everything was just too expensive in Auckland with the rugby. Just as good as the first time. Parking was full at the hotel but was promptly told where else we could park. We've stayed both city and riversides of the hotel both are fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller6867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is always great to receive positive feedback, I have shared your comments with the team and I am sure that they will serve as encouragement for us all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Tainui in the near future.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Positives...great location, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The rooms were made up everyday and plenty of clean towels, soaps etc all provided. We had a nice view of the tree fringed river out of the window. Not so positive...windows don't open and air-con was too warm even on cold setting.Internet costs were astronomical. No plates, wineglasses, or cooking or reheating facilities so needed to rely on quite pricey hotel food (no room service) or eat out for all meals. The 'grab and go' service was good but still quite expensive for what it was. We were there for 5 nights, so in hind-site probably not a choice for longer stays. Great for an overnighter or short term stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Nellyfudge
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that over all you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct our rooms do not have facilities for cooking or reheating etc, however the team are more than happy to do this for you and provide plates etc if asked.
Again thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, everything else is crap. The rooms, beds, customer service, staff attitude (except couple of staff member), cleanliness, service.....would get better service at backpackers!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. It is through all feedback, both positive and constructive that we have the opportunity to improve the service and facilities we offer our guest. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations; I have shared your comments with the team and will use them to ensure that improvements are made.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Rooms were clean, big enough and staff fantastic. Wonderful location

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Carend
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui during your recent visit to Hamilton and for taking the time to post your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in Hamilton.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Very busy day to check in (Saturday) so had to wait it was handled efficiently & quick, staff member professional not particularly friendly. Great pick up meal option from restaurant. Unfortunately, very noisy hotel can hear everyone coming & going. To top it off the fridge in our room was horrendously noisy I had to pull it out & switch off in the back of the cupboard at four in the morning, we had hardly any sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Tainui and for taking the time to post your feedback, it is through all feedback that we have an opportunity tot improve the service and facilities we offer our guests.
Our aim at Ibis it to provide all guests with a comfortable & restful stay, please accept my apologies that we did not succeed.
Again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Clare Porter
Hotel Manager
Ibis Tainui Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing