We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    427
    201
    55
    23
See reviews for
162
352
107
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently stayed at this property and had a good stay. Good location in downtown and right across from a large mall. Beautiful setting right on the river. Helpful front desk staff and good breakfast. Rooms were quite small, but had everything you would need. Would likely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayak430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Kayak440,

We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have just spent the weekend In Hamilton, we stayed at Ibis Tainui Hamilton, the desk clerks were very nice and helpful, took our car keys and valet parked our cars
Our room was nice, sheets clean and room tidy
It has shampoo, conditioner and soap in the bathroom and plenty of towels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydnee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sydnee123,

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from a Senior Contributor. I am happy that you found the room clean and comfortable and liked the valet carparking service.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is "ok" and the staff were great in their helpfulness and friendliness. The room (ours was 591) was disappointing by New Zealand standards and was only what you would expect from a commercial travellers city hotel. Single beds, small room and bathroom, drab looking. Food very good indeed.
Hotel in the main road but we were warned not to venture to the riverside during evenings due to miscreants there. The city centre is pretty quiet at night, almost a dead city and even then we encountered pests on the street (beggars.)
Internet at the hotel was unreliable, poor for a city hotel.
Food was very good indeed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Steve M,

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from a Senior Contributor. I am happy that you found the room clean and comfortable and liked the view on the river.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I and my family stayed there 2 nights in January.
When I booked the rooms I was not noticed the connecting room I could apply.
However the person of the day changed our rooms to connecting room. It was very comfortable for my family.
Thank you very much.
I liked the outside eating place next to the dinning room. There was the sunshine, the river sound and birds sounds.
This may not be the hotel's fault, but the second night some young children were running around the hall and some adults talked by the doors late night.
It is a negative side of budget trip, isn't it?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hohoho_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear hohoho_13,

Thank you again for your comments. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Dinner was fabulous. We had the breakfast and found it really good. Food was hot and plenty of it. We would stay here again if in Hamilton. Parking is available at a cost (20NZD for the valet parking), Bit of a shambles outside hotel finding somewhere to park to get our baggage out before getting to reception. Minor problem. Found this hotel great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freda_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear fred_gibson,

Thank you for posting a review. It amazing to hear that your dinner was fabulous! I am sorry to hear that our forecourt was busy when you checked in. We certainly are a popular hotel and can get very busy sometimes.
Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed just one night. Room was clean and comfortable. Had a good view of the river. Didnt have dinner but we had the breakfast and found it realy good. Food was hot and plenty of it. We would stay here again if in Hamilton. We had car valet parking. Bit of a shambles outside hotel finding somewhere to park to get our baggage out before getting to reception. Minor problem. Found this hotel great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPorter1, Manager at Ibis Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Karen D,

It is always a pleasure to receive a review from a Senior Contributor. I am happy that you found the room clean and comfortable and liked the view on the river. Also, sounds like that you really enjoyed the breakfast during your stay as well.
Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel McKeown
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 63 in Hamilton
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.5 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#17 of 63 in Hamilton
108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamilton Tainui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamilton Tainui

Property: Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Address: 18 Alma St, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Hamilton Tainui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waikato River, the Hotel Ibis Tainui Hamilton is your gateway to New Zealand's wonderful Waikato region. Primely positioned in the heart of Hamilton City, the brand new 126 room hotel is ideal for both leisure and business trips. Just 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport, the hotel also offers easy access to relaxing river walkways, cafes, restaurants, Skycity Casino, shopping and entertainment. Part of the only international hotel chain in Hamilton, the Ibis hotel is a great way to enjoy your stay in the Waikato! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing