We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of EM>BAR>GO

EM>BAR>GO
Ranked #49 of 359 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
169 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favourite”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Love this restaurant. Always come out feeling like I've had a lovely meal and definitely money's worth. Have taken many people here for dinner and all have agreed that it's fantastic. Service is top quality. Food is even better!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExcitedTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In Garden Place”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

A little more expensive than some places but the food and the service is always good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank 657Yorkie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick and affordable lunch menu”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We quite often go to EmBarGo for a group lunch at work and are always pleased with the service, quality and prices. Really can't beat it for a quick, tasty lunch in our lunch break! Can be a bit noisy with lots of corporates dining at lunch time though.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hospogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best curly fries ever!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Love the curly fries here and have been here for lunch often. the service is always fast and pleasent and the food is always fresh and tasy . They do $12 lunches which is quite reasonable and good for any one on a budget but still wanting a fancy lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Queen_Of_Hearts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Embargo is our favourite restuarant in Hamilton by a long shot”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I have been going to Embargo for about 5 years now and it is our favourite restuarant in Hamilton. We don't have the chance to eat out much at the moment with a small baby but lunch is a great option which we did on New Years Eve. I am in love with the mushroom risotto which I dreamt about when pregnant! Elaine and Herbert are lovely hosts and over time we have tried amost all of the menu and it is consistently great.

I recommend Embargo for a nice fine meal with the one you love, to take friends to show off NZ cuisine and wines or to take work collegues for an impressive meal. Oh, and have the Baked Alaska....

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustys_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EM>BAR>GO also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to EM>BAR>GO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing