We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talk about excede expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“talk about excede expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

What a pleasant surprise. Entering my room & seeing the classy furnishings, the opulent bedroom and a view of the beach, this was definately good value for money. In town for work, it was so good to have such a relaxing base. i will return with my wife for a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workineverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    194
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
356
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

It is great to stay on Marine Parade and we got a good deal from Wotif. It is about 10 minutes flat walk to the i-site and the fountain, Pania of the Reef, and restaurants/shops plus the Ocean Spa. The room had a huge spa bath right in the bedroom plus a tiled shower in the ensuite. Small kitchenette witgh coffee plunger, microwave and cooktop. 2 armchairs in lounge opposite TV and sofa under TV, smaller wall TV in bedroom also. Comfy queensized bed. Lovely view across Marine Parade to the sea. We did not try the restaurant on site but walked to others.

Room Tip: There is a baggage lift, rooms up at least one floor have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in an executive suite overlooking the beach on 5.9.2011. The living area consisted of a comfy leather sofa and two leather armchairs, small dining table and leather chairs plus a large tv on the wall. There was also a remote controlled air conditioning/heater unit on one wall in the living area. The bedroom was a decent size with a large jacuzzi bath in one corner - fantastic! There was also a smaller tv in the bedroom, and a hatch in the bedroom wall between it and the living area enabling us to lie in bed and watch the larger tv. Good ensuite bathroom with large shower and small yet adequate kitchen area. It was all immaculate and the bath and bathroom were incredibly clean. Bifold doors led onto a large balcony with wooden furniture - perfect for watching the world go by. All of the staff we came across, from reception staff to cleaners were very friendly and made us feel at ease. Parking on site and parking available on Marine Parade.

The only down side is there are no lifts, so if you don't want to carry cases up stairs best to opt for a ground floor room.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and i (both mid 60's ] stayed 2 nights at the Natilus in mid august 2011.We had asked for a sea facing suite if possible,and were given a top floor siute looking out over marine parade to a beautiful bay.
We found all the amenities included as described, and of excellent quality.
The walk into town was a 10-12 minute casual stroll and the township itself had all that we required in the way of provisions,and entertainment.
On saturday mornings [not sure how often ] there is a farmers market which we visited and stocked up on all the home made goods.
The town itself is unique having been rebuilt in Art Deco style following the devastation of an earthquake in the 1930's


.
In essence ,I would certainly vouch for this establishment if my experience was asked for!

Room Tip: Explain your mobility when booking;N0 passenger lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I especially requested a sea view and the view was magnificent with a spacious balcony looking straight out to sea. Easy walk into town. Not too noisy despite being on the main road. We were a party of four adults but chose this second floor corner suite for the view Kitchen a little small for dining in and main bed in the lounge area but we were well warned so there were no surprises. Much more economical than other options in Napier.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokako99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newstead, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in a studio apartment that was spacious, clean and well appointed. It had a very modern ensuite bathroom as well as a spa bath in the bedroom area. The small kitchenette was very functional with good appliances. The lounge area had two chairs and a small sofa as well as a small dining table and two accompanying chairs. The balcony gave good views of the ocean and the walking track. The apartment had two LCD TVs, one in the lounge area and a smaller one in the bedroom area. The staff and management were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nice room with double spa bath and lovely views on the Marine Parade. Comfortable lounge area with leather couch, big TV and great bathroom. Only complaint is that the office closes at 9pm and no way of contacting the management after hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing