We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, well maintained, good location”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well appointed, well maintained, good location”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in December 2011 , our unit was scrupulously clean, well appointed and had some nice touches. There is a small shop a few metres away for any extras you might need. The only downside is that whilst our unit faced the sea the road in between is a thoroughfare to the port of Napier and trucks start using this road from quite early in the morning - so if you want to sleep in try and get a room away from the road or in an upper floor. We are early risers so it wasn't a problem. We dined in the on site restaurant on our first night,which was convenient because it was raining and had an adequate but unremarkable meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abfabnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    194
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
71
357
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This motel doesn't look much from the outside, but looks can clearly be deceiving! Our room was wonderful - clean, spacious and with a massive jacuzzi bath that we didn't even ask for! The motel is literally a minute's walk from the main town centre which makes for a very convenient location - near enough to be walkable, far enough away to be quiet at night. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at nautilus in Napier. It is on the main strip with views over the sea. It is on the main road as many of the motels are but we did not suffer from noise and slept really well. The room was large ( we stayed in a double) with a spa bath int he corners of the room - very nice. There are good amenities, small kitchen in the room with good crockery cutlery and a laundry on site. Off road parking as well. A very short walk (5 mins) to centre and I-site. I would recommend as a good base for Napier.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights from 26/12/11 a lovely Room with Spa bath and separate lounge and small kitchenette. Fabulous sea views. Beds are very Comfy, great shower and lovely fluffy towels. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: When the hotel is full parking is at a premium but at least it's free. The restaurant was a let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwoz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We reserved their cheapest studio apartment on Wotif and were pleasantly surprised to get a really nice, new, clean and well-serviced apartment on the south side of the building, where we had lovely sea views with both morning and evening sun on our balcony. Great for breakfasts and evening drinks after a day of touristing. This place is basically on the beach so watching beautiful sun rise and morning swim is easy. OK, the road is just outside too, but we weren't disturbed by traffic. Helpful and friendly staff.
A couple of "not-so-highs"; their parking lot is "creative", if there are many cars it is a puzzle to get in and out. One evening a tourist bus parked right outside our balcony, and he had the engine going while cleaning it - not a biggie really, but it made us leave the balcony.
Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Clean, tidy and spacious, you can't go wrong. We had a ground floor room on the water front, a room higher up would have been nice but it didn't change our overall positive view of this hotel. The spa bath was huge! The kitchenette had everything you needed. Check-in was fast and efficient. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water front are good but you do get traffic noise....we slept fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

A comfortable room with large spa bath. Beautiful views.

Room Tip: Ask for one with sea view and spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
861 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nautilus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing