We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Napier”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I overnight in Napier often for business and have stayed at the Nautilus often - rooms are very clean, well equipped and situated in excellent location on marine parade.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Lovely room on the third floor overlooking the ocean. Amazing double spa in the bedroom. Great balcony which would be amazing in the summer. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Small kitchenette if you would like to cater for yourself. Our meal in the restaurant was excellent with very friendly service. We only stayed one night and wish it had been more. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so decided to go to Napier to stay a night. Checked in by pleasant staff an room was on the 3rd floor with a great view of ocean and a spa bath in the room which we really enjoyed . Yummy breakfast the next morning and the man who served us was so nice. Only complaint was the wireless signal- the only place I got coverage was sitting on the toilet in the bathroom as signal is not that strong in bedroom but considering it was free I wasn't going to moan!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My friend and I wanted a relaxing weekend away so we chose Napier. We booked a room and upon arrival were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was beautiful, with amazing views of the ocean across the road, a flat screen tv, comfy beds and real milk for our tea. We left the car parked as it is only a short walk beside the beach to town. The reception staff were knowledgable about town and the surrounding districts.
A great getaway, and will be back again!

Room Tip: top floor studio is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have been staying with John & Kay and the team at the Nautilus for over 3 years now it's like a home away from home.I always arrive to smiling faces and friendly banter which is very refreshing. The rooms are always clean tidy and decked out with all you could ask for. They have a fantastic restaurant and beautiful views of New Zealand's east coast. If you get the chance check this place out Lovely people great rooms and breathtaking sunsets.

Room Tip: Fantastic Ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Not having visited Napier for some years I was not that familiar with the Accomidation options.

I must say that I was very happy with my choice. I booked an Executive Suite and with hindsight this was the right move. Check in was a breeze. Friendly reception. One great thing was that this property actually supplies real milk to each room. I am so sick of UHT potels or worse still Creamer powder (America,take note!).

My room was spacious and ver well presented. Having a separate bedroom gave a lot of living room. A full size spa pool adjoining the bedroom was fantastic.

I dd not eat in the restaurant that evening but I did have breakfast te following morning. Average food, but quite acceptable.

I will be back!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Excellent location on Marine Parade, walking distance to Napier town centre. Although Marine Parade is a main road it is extremely quiet at night. Great view of the ocean and glorious sunrises. Clean, tidy, all expected amenities. Has an attached restaurant but I didn't use it. Slightly bizarre to have a spa bath in the main living area but I rather enjoyed sitting in it and watching TV. Cheap easy internet connection, complimentary newspaper on request. The elevator to the 3rd floor, where I was, is for luggage only. This was no problem for me but may be to some. This is a good example of a fairly standard type motel.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem book a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samatjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £75 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing