We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
293 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, which was a short walk to the town and across the road from the sea. We had a lovely apartment with views out to the sea and a corner jacuzzi in the bedroom. There was a safe and unlimited free wifi. The young lady on reception was superb at her job and we would highly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay with us.
We really do appreciate your kind comments and recommendation.
We would love to host you again if you ever venture back to Napier
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    189
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
346
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I think this is one of the best Motels we have ever stayed in. Spacious, with the lounge at the front, separate from the bedroom and with a nice balcony looking out over the seafront and the Pacific Ocean. Good quality furnishings. Bedroom had a large spa bath which was wonderfully relaxing. Nice shower room at the rear. Parking no problem and friendly reception. Good wi fi. Could have stayed much longer.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room-too close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so very much for a lovely review of your stay with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking time to post a review.
Your recommendation is also much appreciated.
Thank you again and all the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Very clean, spacious rooms. Spa bath was great. Big TV's and superb cooking facilities. Super location opposite the beach promenade. Very comfortable place to stay in a very good location. Hosts were great, asked for some honey to be put in my room before my arrival as I like it for breakfast and got some very generous sachets. Great service!

Been here a few times, staying in different rooms which were all excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Where ever possible, we look to provide added touches that make a guest's stay with us all the more comfortable. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nautilus for a weekend away. The room was perfect. The location and view is beautiful. The spa bath is a wonderful treat. The room was comfy and quiet. The kitchenette was useful and all of the little extras supplied in it were appreciated. We ordered room service from the restaurant at the hotel. The deal they have for dinner and breakfast was amazing. The food was delicious and hot and delivered exactly when they said it would. We were thoroughly impressed with the quality and quantity of the food for the price we paid. Added bonus that we could have it in the comfort of our room for a very minimal fee. One request would be for napkins to be sent with the room service orders. The room was neat and tidy and the housekeepers who tidied our room did more than expected. A few maintenance touchups on the building may be required and we did notice mold on the curtains in the room, however, as we were leaving we saw cleaning staff spraying and cleaning curtains outside so obviously the hotel is aware of this and onto it. I would recommend this place to others and will be back again. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildek9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity to offer our guests a ralaxing break be it on holiday or business travel. We really appreciate your comments on the room service meal and the quality you experienced.
We also thank you for your comments on maintenance of the hotel and its' amenities.
We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Came upon this property unexpectedly. The host was very helpful, and the room was terrific. A nice ocean view across from the park, a spa bath in the bedroom, an efficient kitchenette, comfortable living room, and modern and spotless bath were just some of the attributes.
Napier is a great town to visit, and you couldn't do better than pick the Nautilus. It was one of the two best value-for-the money stays we had in a 2 week visit to NZ.

Room Tip: I don't think there is an elevator, and there are 3 levels. Stay in a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2young2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Than you for posting a review of your stay with us at The Nautilus.
We strive to offer our guests a great experience at an affordable price. It was certainly our pleasure to host you and we look forward to the opportunity to see you again when you venture back to Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The room was a great size, with everything you could want for a comfortable stay, and what an added bonus you can have a spa bath, and watch the telly at the same time, bliss used it both nights of our stay. Great value for money and would definitely recommend to all coming to Napier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation of The Nautilus.
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review and look forward to being able to host you again when next in Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

While attending a 3 day conference in Hastings, it was great to come to this fantastic accommodation in Napier. With fantastic views, playground and coffee just out the door I would bring my family back here next time. The office team were great particularly when we flattened the battery and they were able to jump start our van - Thanks heaps! Rooms were serviced and beautiful and clean, just a shame I didn't have enough time to try the amazing spa bath. Yummy breakfast too. Thanks.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be tricky for seniors with no lift. Ground floor rooms still nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPTEMETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.
It was our pleasure to assist you to get mobile.
We would welcome you and your family back to the Nautilus and perhaps you will get the time to enjoy the spa.
Thank you again and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing