We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a motel which has been wonderfully renovated. Nice touches included a large spa-bath, two televisions, a well-priced mini-bar and reliable wifi service. The balcony looks onto the beach, with large concertina glass doors blocking out road noise at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsburyBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nautilus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    192
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
71
354
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We asked for a room on the top floor that had a balcony and view. It was a little bit extra, but worth it. While the room was a studio, it had a full lounge suite in it. The view is very nice for Napier. (Note: Napier has a stoney beach with a bad undertow, so we are not taking Surfers Paradise here) However, other than the beach itself, the view was lovely and otherwise very much like Surfers with park before the beach full of outdoor public BBQ and sit down areas, things for the kids.

There was a lift for your bags, but not for people, so good not to have to carry those upstairs.

We had a room service meal and it was very nice.

The mattress we had caused us both upper back pain. Not sure what was wrong with it.

Overall, we would stay there again, although would get a different room to avoid the mattress in 302.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor as views are better. The Hotel like a few others on the waterfront i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Apologies for the length of time it has taken to respond to you. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us albeit the mattress was not quite to your liking. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked this stay for its positive reviews and location along the beach in Napier. Once we got there, we realized what a find it really was. The location was beautiful. The room was well appointed. The bathroom was especially lovely and modern.
After staying in a standard city hotel in Auckland, it was a treat to have a room with living space, comfortable furniture and a balcony overlooking the ocean.
As a bonus, the mini-bar and restaurant were economically priced and the food was very good.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to staying there any time we are in Hawke's Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Aloha and thank you so very much for posting a review of your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and that you found your room comfortable and relaxing.
Thank you for your comments regarding Burtons restaurant, the quality of food and the minibar.
We look forward to your next visit should you venture back to Hawkes Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a very fine motel...good beds, spacious rooms, very clean, well located. The shower was particularly wonderful. We booked because of good reviews and were glad we did. The location is perfect...on the waterfront but a few blocks away from noise downtown.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with water view. Yes, that sounds romantic, but you will be disturbed by traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joerussin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Nautilus.
We are glad that our Trip Advisor reviews encouraged you to stay with us and delighted you found your accommodation to your liking. Thank you for choosing The Nautilus and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We travelled with our good friends to do a wine tour. The standard Room was amazing. Great Spa Bath, Bed and pillows were comfy. Friendly service from all the staff including the cleaning staff. Viewing the Sunrise in the mornings was an absolutely bonus. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitmanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Nautilus and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Napier. We hope you enjoyed your wine tour. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Found it very hard to fault anything about the hotel. The room was probably one of the best we have had with a huge bath, great shower, lovely sitting area, huge bed, nice kitchenette. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but it certainly looked nice. 10/10 for this hotel.................and of couse lovely views of the ocean. This was an upgare premium room - highly recommended

Room Tip: take an upgrade to premium room - awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so very much for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found your room and its' amenities to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good room, right on marine parade looking out across to the beach. Clean tidy, well equiped including airconditioning which not all motels near by have. Very good. Highly recommended for Napier stays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Nautilus. We are happy you found the room and hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Napier. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
833 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Property: The Nautilus
Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing