We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Napier”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very pleasant room on the third floor overlooking the beachfront. Traffic noise was minimal even with the balcony door open. Very clean and tidy throughout and the kitchen had a good selection of plates, pots and pans etc. On the down side, the rounded/warped base of the frying pan proved a challenge on the flat top hob and was pretty much useless and should have been replaced long ago judging by its condition. Bathroom also very clean and tidy but unfortunately the shower door would not stay shut and the bathroom floor flooded. Also there was a very sharp corner on the shower door frame which my husband cut his toe on. We mentioned it to reception and they said they 'would take a look' but they didn't whilst we were there... The only major negative was the lack of parking spaces in proportion to the amount of units and we didn't appreciate having to park on the street and walk into the complex late at night. However overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Nautilus.
We have since replaced the frying pan and have readjusted the shower door.
We would be delighted to host you again when you are back in Napier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great visit to Napier and stayed 3 nights at The Nautilus. The unit was very tidy with a generous spa bath. The hotel location was convenient to get to city center by car or foot. We would not hesitate to recommend The Nautilus to our family or friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thankyou for commenting on your stay at The Nautilus. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Napier is a wonderful city and the Motel is so convenient to the CBD.
Hopefully we can accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is my favorite place to stay in Napier. We've stayed twice and both times been very happy with the service and the rooms. We've stayed in the Executive Suite and the Executive studio, and both are of an equally high standard.
The spa bath in the room is great, and the kitchen is well stocked with all that you'd need if you choose to eat in.

We will definitely be back here on our next trip to the Bay.

Room Tip: For longer stays consider staying in the Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Pleasantly surprised very welcoming. Good place to stay I was on my own but it would be great for the family. Clean and comfortable room and bed. Good location. Will definitely stay here again.
Just make sure you check the expiry dates of the consumables in the room!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a magnificent place to stay! I came here for the first time in 2012, and every 4 weeks im back on business, and always stay here. Service is fantastic, rooms are immaculate, huge Spa Bath in room big enough for a party!

I love the kitchenette in each room, that is well appointed and has everything you need.

The restaurant is fantastic, producing great hearty meals. I will often have the Nautilus Special which includes simple entree, main dessert and breakfast the next morning!

Only downside is parking. Im not sure if there is one park for each room, but I have had to park on the road on occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for the middle level. They have a separate bedroom with giant spa in it, and bi-fold internal wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very pleasantly surprised. Normally stay with family but needed an alternative this trip. Great price, staff and room. Huge spa bath, spacious, clean. Everything we needed. Happliy stay on the next trip. Great little fish n chip shop on the corner of the property. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaurangaSoarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Found this hotel on the internet. Excellent location with wonderful views of the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful, the room had all amenities including kitchenette and a spa bath. Our room and all other rooms in the hotel were spotlessly clean. We ate in the hotel for our evening meal service food and value excellent. Continental breakfast was included in the price.Free wifi and off street parking also included. If we are to visit Napier again would definitely stay again at the Natilus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukieo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
813 reviews
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £75 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing