We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nautilus
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2011

A friend recommended we stay here, and I'm so glad she did. The Nautilus was wonderful! We managed to book off expedia and get a reasonable rate at late notice. We were given an executive room with views of the ocean. There was a large balcony overlooking the beach.

The room was tastefully decorated and extremely well equipped. As you walk in you have a mini kitchen on your right which has everything you need. The room is large and has shutters that can open up to views of the water. There is a large spa in the room also (as well as a shower in the bathroom).

Service was wonderful. Our hosts were very accommodating and friendly. There is a bistro here also but we didn't get to experience it. It is only a 10 minute walk into town and you have access to a luxurious gym down the road.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feijoa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for The Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed here for one night only but wish we could have stayed for more. The hotel is situated on Marine Parade, slightly out of the main area of Napier but only a short 5-10 minute walk to everything you need.
The unit was fabulous, fully equipped kitchen as you enter then a hallway leading to the bedroom and separate living area which was a real treat. Most units have the bed in the living area which means you have to lie on the bed to watch telly (I hate this!). The bedroom had a lovely bed with gorgeous furnishings and 4 pillows with an additional 2 plum bed cushions, very luxurious! There was also a huge spa bath in the bedroom which was just heavenly. Normally I don't bother with the bath but this one was too good to not take advantage of it. There was a separate bathroom with a huge shower and the power was good, not just a horrible trickle leaving you feeling like you wished you hadn't bothered. The lounge itself had everything you could want, a leather sofa with two armchairs, a coffee table, dining table and writing desk. Oh and did I mention the flat screen tellys - yes 2 of them! One in the lounge and one in the bedroom. All this and then a lovely balcony overlooking the sea.

It was a horrible weekend and the weather was atrocious but this more than made up for it. We were all tucked up nice and cozy while the rain was lashing down outside.

I would thoroughly recommend the Nautilus and I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntsWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Loved the unit as soon as we walked in. Excellent service pre booking. Beautiful decor, stunning ocean views from the deck, spa, bed. The unit was so nice we didnt go out to a restaurant, instead we took a meal and drinks back to the unit as we felt so relaxed there. Stayed on the top floor and at a great rate as the weekend was quiet. 5 star experience. Couldnt fault our stay, very clean unit. Close to town, free parking. Will go back there and recommend to friends

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dibbydobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Kaye, Sarah and team are always welcoming anf have been very helpful when I book. The rooms are very well appointed with wonderful views of the sea and beach. Town is a 5 min walk with plenty of food outlets nearby too. I have stayed here a few times now and have just booked again for my next trip in February. I also recommended to a friend who came back equally pleased and will also be using the Nautilus again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

we were right across the street from the ocean! The rooms are clean and very sleek and efficient. Small kitchen area at the door that worked fine for our needs. nice living area, so we could have friends over. Most restaurants are not within walking distance and on the other side of town. Walking distance to a grocery store. Wish all our NZ hotels were this nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Not a bad establishment, more of a motel with big, nice modern rooms. The room we had was on the ground floor facing the beach with a little balcony. The room had a heat pump/ air conditioner which was useful as it was particularly hot when we were at Napier. Bed was comfortable enough although trucks do travel on the somewhat busy road on the beach front creating noise that can affect sleep. It did not affect us too badly though. Flat screen TV with Sky was nice and so was the furniture. Check out photos. There was a spa bath in the bathroom which we did not use, wary of the amount of water that would have been wasted if we had. Location, somewhat far from the town centre, it's around a 15 minute stroll which was pleasant along Marine Parade. Close to the aquarium. There's parking on site but can be a little crowded later in the afternoon. Plenty of parking on street though. Napier is a great little town. Overall a good stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were extremely impressed with the excellent suite at The Nautilus. We had ocean views, a massive spa bath in the bedroom and great facilities.
The location is great and we couldn't have been happier with the room which as well as a large lounge area with flat screen TV, also has a smaller flat screen in the bedroom and lovely wooden shutters that open up in to the lounge so that the ocean view can be enjoyed from the bedroom. On a warm day you can also open up the bi fold doors on to the balcony which features a table and chairs.
On top of all this, there is a galley kitchenette which is very handy for breakfast.
Would have liked to stay longer as Napier is a great city where I could have happily spent longer enjoying food like we did a 2 of 6, a new organic restaurant at 189 Marine Parade or at the local Hawkes Bay vineyards, especially those around Haverlock North.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcfc_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £51 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing