We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speights Ale House fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #32 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Speights Ale House fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My third Speights Ale House during my travel through NZ. The food was good (the carrot soup was even better then in another Speights Ale House), hot and there was enough.
Food as it ought to be. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    97
    34
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner on a Saturday night with friends and family. Even though we booked in advance, we had to wait a while for a table as they were so busy. The staff were apologetic about this and it really wasn't a big deal to us. We stayed at the bar and had a few drinks while we waited for a table to become available. The service was to a high standard and the food was very good. I'll be coming back here again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappointed. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This Speights Ale House is our "go to" for reliably good food and fantastic service. Good views from upstairs and nice cosy fire downstairs.

Helpful?
Thank 142amandaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohaupo, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lucky we arrived early for dinner as the restaurant filled up quickly not long after we arrived. Wonderful fast and friendly service. Beautiful views from upstairs. The food arrived quickly and was hot and very good. The kids meals arrived first and they loved their ice cream dessert with the lollies. Will be back next time we are in Napier.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HollieD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
318 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Matamau AdBlue Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Great night.
Great staff.
Nice warm fire with small view of harbour.
Nice cold beer and good music.
Meal was fantastic - Blue Cod, chips, eggs and salad.
Wife had a most tender lamb shank.
Well priced.
Not far from cbd.
Nice drive around the port.
Can't wait to go back.
Was a quiet night being Monday, have seen it packed on Fridays.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing