We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to remember!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 42 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We only spent one day and night in Napier and at the Nest Haven B&B, what a great stay! Maggie and John are such warm and welcoming people with a great passion for wine and their town of Napier. The room was nice, the wine-tour was great and the town of Napier was wonderful. It may take som time for us to return, but we most certainly will! We gladly recommend Nest Haven to others :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleCooperSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Truckleffe: Thank you for your review. As you know, we do go out of our way to offer the best we can for our clients. We just want you going on your way with not good, but 'fantastic' memories of your visit to Napier. We are really glad you loved the tour. Safe travelling. - John & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay in Napier was made extremely interesting by our friendly and knowledgeable hosts, John & Margaret.
John information about Napier and its environs was almost encyclopaedic, showing us a video of the town before & after the earthquake of 1931 and providing us with a GPS to borrow giving directions to all the sights.
Our room was lovely,very clean very comfortable bed. The adjacent bathroom looked as if it just been refurbished, lovely tiling, good shower and plenty of towels and plenty of room.
Meals were in the dining room with John & Margaret, we had booked a "Hangi" for our second night, not to sure about this, wouldn't rate it particularly high, food was good but tended to taste all the same.
Not exactly close to city centre, but walking distance to small local community centre with several restaurants and supermarket banks etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterandheike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi peterandheike: Thank you for your great comments. Yes, we are proud of the guests bathrooms, and they're not brand new either. Timeless one might say. They are admired by all.
The Hangi, yes, this is basically a steamed meal with smoked overtones as everything is cooked together it shares the same basic tastes. It is an acquired taste. We are glad you enjoyed your Napier stay. - John and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent last night with John and Margaret in Napier, such a great experience! Both are local tour guides and know the area and its history very well! We were treated to a history lesson of the Napier earthquake and Art Deco styles; they even shared with us a one hour historical account DVD of the quake. Their home is beautiful, clean, and charming and breakfast was wonderful. Both welcomed us into their home with cake, cheese, crackers, and tea. We aren't wine drinkers but they also know the vineyards and local wines and provide wine tours. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Hi TravelforfunSeattle, Thank you for your fantastic review. As you were here for a different reason than sightseeing, we like to ensure that you at least take with you the history of the region and see some of the highlights in the time possible. Napier is a great place, we are glad you left with great memories. Safe travelling, John and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is our first time in Nest Haven.we stayed only a day and night..though we had a nice time there...Both John and Maggie are very friendly and caring. we really enjoyed talking to them...The house is very clean and tidy ......I would defenitely choose this place again if I have to go and stay aroud that region.

All the best John and Maggie

Manoj and Linu
Palmerston North, NZ

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy0123, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Hi Linu V: Thank you for your taking the time to place a lovely comment. We are pleased that you found everything perfect for your stay. - John & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here while on a 7 week trip to Australia and New Zealand. It was a very nice, clean and welcoming house and room. Maggie amd John went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and fun. We went with John on a brewery, winery and Art Deco tour. It was interesting tasty and informative all at the same time. I am just glad we were not driving. The B & B is located just a short walk to shops and food but is on a very quiet street and we never heard any noise. The cold breakfast was good with a lot of variety. If you are in Napier this is a good place to stay.
Keith and Colleen
Minnesota USA

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColleenandKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Hi ColleenandKeith,
Thank you for your kind words. It was a delight to have you stay in our bed & breakfast. We are very proud of our home and love to share our passion with our guests. We are always pleased to hear this still shines through.
Kind regards
John & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with John and Margaret who are such lovely, welcoming and down to earth hosts. The accommodation is fantastic, super clean and extremely comfortable. We also found it to be great value for money. John and Margaret have a wealth of information on the region and were most helpful when planning what we wanted to see and do. We highly recommend Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 297AliceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Hi 297AliceB; Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased we were able assist with your accommodation and to hear it was to your satisfaction. Also to hear you appreciated the little tips and guidelines to our city and hsitory. We feel this is very important to our guests as our city is unique.
We always say, make this your "Home away from Home" and it certainly works well for us as it did for you.
Kind regards
John & Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed with John and Maggie after enjoying their Wine Tour of Napier and they were both so friendly and helpful it was a real pleasure to meet them. The tour was informative, relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable and then to be welcomed into their house was a lovely experience. The standard of accommodation would be hard to better but it was the way they made us feel so at home that gave us such happy memories. Nothing is too much trouble and Maggie even booked us on a Gannet Tour the next day as we left to continue our trip round NZ. They are truly a remarkable couple with many a tale to tell and we would recommend their hospitality to anyone staying in Napier

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NashWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Good afternoon NashWorldTour; Thank you for your comments. We will always do everything we can to make your visit here a visit to remember and if that means making the odd phone call, then that's fine. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
4.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
708 reviews
4.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
829 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
601 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Neeve Place | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Quiet, Restful, peaceful nights sleep in the quiet location of Nest Haven. We offer two modern rooms, with new bathroom and en-suite. Set in a Cul-de-sac, just a 3-minute walk to a shopping center and Art Deco buildings. Mission Estate and Church Road Wineries are also within walking distance. We really are situated at the center of it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing