We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!!”
Review of The Rose Irish Pub

The Rose Irish Pub
Ranked #18 of 197 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Napier institution right in the heart of Napier has loads of character and is a great place to meet your friends, start your night out or linger over a meal matched with our best range of beers and our fine selection of wines including many local wines. Our menu is a fusion of Kiwi-Irish, well priced and we are well positioned in Hastings Street amongst the major central city shops and hotels, including our own Art Deco Masonic Hotel. The Rose appeals to a broad range of people, young and young at heart, locals and tourists, families, kiwis and international visitors.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently spent 3 days in Napier, it wasn't long enough. I went into the Rose Irish pub on all of those days where I received a warm welcome by the friendly and fun staff behind the bar. Great to chat too and very helpful about the area I was staying. The locals who also frequent the pub are a great bunch of people too,I cant thank them all enough for the hospitality!
The food was excellent with a different special on each day.The selection of beers was good although I mainly sampled the Macs gold which was even better when served in a jug.
They had various events on in the week of which the quiz night was the only one I got involved with and the atmosphere was fantastic! ...I didn't win though. My only concern is that for the people that work there as they always rushing about and could probably do with some kind of air con behind the bar to keep them smiling. Other than that 10/10 all round. If going to Napier I highly recommend you go in!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobajob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Bobojob2014
Wow 10/10. Thank you for such an amazing review, knowing you enjoyed your visit makes rushing about all worth it. Shame you didn't wine the quiz, maybe you should try bribing the staff?. Be sure to pop back in when your next in town, but a few more days longer.
Kind regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    128
    36
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Friendly Irish Pub”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What's not to like! Good food, friendly welcoming staff, entertainment every night. Quiz night was great fun and we won a Bar tab prize. On our second visit we were equally impressed with the service and family atmosphere. a very pleasant place I would go back to next time I am in Napier.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Julie R
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rose. Its great to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and the quiz, hope you spent your winning bar tab wisely.
Kind regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little pub”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ate here on a Monday night when very few places were open. It was quiz night which looked lots of fun but we were on a time limit. Bangers and Mash was to die for...would go back just for that. The burger we ordered wasn't so great but the wedges made up for it !!
Definitely worth a visit to see locals and for a friendly, inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello LouiseKP
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the bangers & mash and your night. We look forward to see you again soon.
Kind regards Ness and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Quiz night!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a lonely Monday night, was warmly greeted by super friendly staff, and a bloke called "Nigel no friends". Was made to feel so welcome, which is awesome in a foreign country. Bangers and Mash was amazing too!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yhebigv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Yhebigv82
Thanks for the review and of course the entertainment, "Nigel no mates" had an awesome team with new friends.Glad to hear you enjoyed the bangers and mash, they're on special every Tuesday for only $12
Kind Regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
240 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Standard Irish pub outside of Ireland”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Average. $9 pints of Guinness. Entertainment nightly. Super fast Wifi. 1 block from the beach.

Yes, I would go here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigAH, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Mary K
Thanks for the review, to the point. We are a Irish pub outside of Ireland!!!! but we are anything but standard. We have fantastic regulars who love our pub, and many tourists appreciate our friendly laid back atmosphere, with caring staff who love talking to tourists about our beautiful city.
Thrilled to hear you would come again so we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Napier.
Kind Regards Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Irish Pub also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Rose Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing