We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly & great service”
Review of The Rose Irish Pub

The Rose Irish Pub
Ranked #29 of 222 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: US$6 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Napier institution right in the heart of Napier has loads of character and is a great place to meet your friends, start your night out or linger over a meal matched with our best range of beers and our fine selection of wines including many local wines. Our menu is a fusion of Kiwi-Irish, well priced and we are well positioned in Hastings Street amongst the major central city shops and hotels, including our own Art Deco Masonic Hotel. The Rose appeals to a broad range of people, young and young at heart, locals and tourists, families, kiwis and international visitors.
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Fun, classic and cosy Irish pub in the heart of Napier in which you can easily settle into for an afternoon/evening. Great service from friendly staff.

Thank Ethan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumEatery, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Hi thanks for your review, we are very family friendly, and many a guest has come in for a quick drink, only to leave 3 hours later.......
Cheers Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Called in here as a pit stop from shopping, typical irish pub setting, it is a bar mainly but the bar man was excellent, remembering our drinks, jokey etc, really good service and I ordered a ceaser salad and garlic bread for 4 which was godo value. The garlic bread was crispy and really nice (I don't like it soft) and ti came with dips, the ceaser for a pub meal was best I have had, certainly much better than one my friend paid twice the price for later that evening. These guys used coz lettuce, nice bacon and the dressing was good, it also had the soft egg, very hard to get this salad right so very impressed with this one and the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ange J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumEatery, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Its great to hear you enjoyed our casear salad and that you rate it so highly. We aim to provide great food, drinks and service. Its great to hear that it had been noticed. We look forward to your next visit.
Cheers Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

All the old radios & collectables. Great food also. Would have loved to have been there on St. Patricks day.

Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumEatery, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thanks for the review and admiring our classic old radios and collectibles. You would love St Paddy's day it is awesome, maybe you should book your next holiday for March next year and we will see you again.....
Cheers Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a drink, out of season so a little quiet.
Content of meals on menu doesn't reflect the names! Some good happy hour offers.

Thank veronamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumEatery, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Hi thanks for the review, would love to know more about what dish didn't match the menu description!
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers Nessa and the team at The Rose irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to this earlier in the day, but were going on a wine tour that afternoon so we decided to return that evening.
That night was quiz night so we joined to test our knowledge. It was a challenging quiz, but we had a lot of fun meeting new people and attempting to answer everything. We only had some appetizers which were amazing. We had plenty of awesome drinks that were decently priced and stayed until closing talking and enjoying ourselves; although, we did not win anything from the quiz.
Quick shout out to Ness for being awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xcountry8614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumEatery, Manager at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Thanks for your review and the visit, it was great to meet you all, and yes although the quiz can be challenging it is all about fun and there was alot of laughs coming from your table. Be sure to pop in next time you are in NZ.
Thanks for the awesome shout out.
Cheers Nessa and the team at The Rose Irish Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Irish Pub also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Rose Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing