We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, friendly staff, a bit slow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Chef's Restaurant

Thai Chef's Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: US$12 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Most Award Thai Restaurant in Napier - The Thai Chef's restaurant was awarded "Thai Select" PREMIUM by the Thai Prime Minister H.E. Yingluck Shinawatra on March 24, 2013 in recognition of their high quality and authenticity of Royal Thai Cuisine. Now you be the Judge.....Deliveries & TakeoutsFully licensed.Lunch Tuesday to FridayDinner 7 nights
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff, a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a group of 8 and had booked a table. Once we were all sat down, read our menus and talked, it was about 40 minutes and nobody had come to our table. I had to put my hand up to get someone's attention to take our order. Rather hungry already by this time.

When the food did come, it was very very nice, but not that hot. It was a cold night outside, but didn't feel overly warm inside either. The staff were very friendly.

Not the best experience, but will go again in case it was just a bad night - mainly cos the food was tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MacDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    12
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Food was nice, getting expensive with all the hidden costs, rice expensive for what you get, can buy a whole bag at supermarket for that, the menus are too big and shiny, the light above reflect off the shines pages so can't read the menu, need to make menus smaller. Waitress was in a rush, asked us if we wanted dessert while walking away and never followed it up, felt as if we had to get out of restaurant so she could fill another seat, when we arrived It was early so not that busy. But the food was very nice

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NattachaiChang, Owner at Thai Chef's Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Anna

First , thank you for your comment so we would know how customer think of us... really appreciated.

$2.50 for a pot of rice, I don't think that is overpriced compare to a scoop of chip which now cost $4.5 or $4 for skinny fries at McDonalds.

Sorry to make you felt being rushed, we do not have any intention in any way to but we were quite busy so we had a lot of other people to serve and all of our staff under pressure if we not attend to all other table as well. Sorry we are not a fined dinning restaurant that we can have our wait staff to spend much time to talk to customer. However sorry that we made you felt uncomfortable.

At the end thank you for your custom and we see that you still like our food.

very much appreciated.

Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Delicious meals! Nice to have different Thai options than the standard Thai restaurant. Would definitely return! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always delicious and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I always try to have a meal from Thai Chef when I'm in Napier. I used to be a local and went here often. The food is always yummy and the staff are lovely. There's lots of good choices on the menu, with a helpful guide to heat for the nervous diner.It's great to see how this business has grown from a little caravan on the side of the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We saw this Thai restaurant while driving from Napier to Taradale and decided to try it out for dinner. It turned out to be a good decision. The food was excellent and service great. Price was reasonable too. The only thing I didn't like was the menu. It was very cluttered and the names of the dishes are quirly at best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace_Traveller_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Chef's Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Chef's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing