We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic and memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at Fairley Motor Lodge from 22nd August 2011 to 2nd October 2011. My partner was in New Zealand for work, whilst I took the opportunity to take some leave.

Fairley Motor Lodge is located in Westshore, Napier, between the beach and the estuary. It is in a quiet location and is a 5 minute drive from Napier airport and a short walk to the local restaurants, shops and bars at Ahurriri.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was located at the far end of Fairley Motor Lodge and overlooked the sea – which was perfect! We found the accommodation to be clean, comfortable and very well appointed. It had a large lounge/kitchen with dining table, LCD TV, sofa and desk area, a spacious bathroom with spa bath and shower, and a large double bedroom with LCD TV, a clock radio and ipod dock. The bed was extremely comfortable with good quality linen and the towels provided were clean, plentiful and very fluffy!

The kitchen was also very well equipped with a two ring hob, microwave and fridge and enough utensils to cater for our needs; however, if we required any more specific items, we only had to ask!

Hugh and Jane, the owners were lovely people and could be relied upon for interesting conversation, information about the local area and a lend of their bicycles! Their support staff were also incredibly helpful, considerate and accommodating. Their cleaning skills were outstanding (can we borrow them please!!!!)

We would definitely recommend the Fairley Motor Lodge for business and leisure, for short or a longer stay, for single people, couples or families. This was our first time in New Zealand and we can definitely say that our experience was made all the better by the relaxed and welcoming atmosphere created by Hugh, Jane and the staff, a home from home!

Thank you, Hugh, Jane and all at Fairley Motor Lodge for making our stay such a pleasurable and relaxing experience.

Charlotte and Anna
(The Poms at No. 9!!!!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Fairley Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed overnight in 1 bedroom room, 2 adults 3 children. Owners were very nice and accomodated our sleeping arrangement without fuss. Clean rooms, well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed our stay, will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was truly a wonderful place to stay. The unit was roomy and exceptionally clean, and Hugh and Jane could not have done more for us. Although I was working, it was a really relaxing place to come home to. No doubt where we will stay next time in Napier.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janewestshore, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Hugh and I like sharing information and engaging with our guests. It make it all worthwhile !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I Travel arround a bit for work and have found the Fairley Motor Lodge a well apointed and comfortable place to stay. In fact the Fairley Motor Lodge has been my first choice for over 9 years, often as a base for 3 to 4 nights at a time. Hosts, Hugh and Jane, are very friendly and accommodating people. And I'd say is the best of all the places I frequent.
The Fairley motor Lodge is situated in a quiet location with quick acess to beach for dip or walk. Eateries/pubs around 15min walk too. Quick and easy access to Napier / Hastings expressway and short drive to Napier CBD.
The rooms are well appointed, comfortable with modern décor and appliances, including large screen LCD TV and clock radios that you can hook the I-pod up to. Also, I have found the beds really comfortable and linen of good quality.
Other than staying for work, I have also stayed with my family (wife and 2 kids - 5yo and 2yo) a couple of times now and found the Fairley suited our needs well. I see it as a good option for short/medium term family vacations.
All in all I highly recommend the Fairley Motor Lodge to Professional travelers, singles, couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Studio units are best suited to singles or couples. They have nice private outdoor patio areas that...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonghoursTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you for your time and of course your loyalty at staying at Fairley whilst on business.We try to do our best for all our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were weary travellers from Christchurch relocating to the North Island and had stayed at a variety of motels along the way but have to say that we were really looked after well by Hugh. He went out of his way to help us and his sense of humour helped our plight! On top of this the room was exceptional, beautifully appointed with a private courtyard and had tasteful and upmarket decor and linen. We recommend a visit to the Fairley Motor Lodge for all the above plus a great location close to town and Ahuiri.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you Maggie! Hugh and all our staff like to give all our attention to our guests. Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Fairley Motor Lodge is in a stunning setting overlooking Westshore Beach, Napier.

The units are of a very high quality, with excellent appointments, including their own private patio area. It is very quiet and peaceful, with the only sound the sound of waves breaking on Westshore Beach, about 100 metres away.

The hosts are committed to providing excellent service; nothing is too much trouble. They are well travelled and educated and a joy to talk to.

I have stayed there many times over the years and continue to highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard as they have their own private patio area.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were fortunate to be accommodated in a large studio unit that had recently been refurbished. Absolutely everything has been well thought out. The fixtures and fittings were of a very high standard and visually appealing. We could not fault the room in anyway. It was excellent value for money. The hosts were extremely hospitable and nothing appeared to be too much trouble..
We will definitely stay again.

Jan and Murray

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
917 reviews
1.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Tareha Street & Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing