We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrific location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just had 4 perfect days at Fairley Lodge - sun was shining, walked around the estuary and each day used a different cycle track, cycling the water trail. Even went out to Church Road. Fabulous wet lands with many migratory birds wintering in the wetlands eg Royal Spoonbills & pied stilts. Comfortable room with separate bedroom and huge bathroom. Our unit caught the afternoon sun, perfect for relaxing after the cycle rides.

Room Tip: Room 9 & 10 are quiet and face the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for joining us and reviewing what we think is is a very special location too. The cycle track is at our doorstep, along with the beach and the very special Ahuriri Estuary.Even at this time of year we have wonderful days with clear blue skies,no wind and a little chill to the air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    62
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
119
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We made the booking by phone as we were travelling with my 90 year old mum so we would ensure all requests were met.. However this was not the case . On checking in we were allocated a unit with 1 bedroom and a couch bed in the lounge ... Our request was for a "normal " bed not a couch fold away bed... I took this up with the motel owner only to be told ,sorry that is it ..... BUT not accepting this we were given a unit to suit our requirements....
Checking the expiry date on the milk only to see that it was 3 days overdue.......
Overall the unit was clean and comfortable however next time in Napier I think I will choose another place to stay.
The Farley is not a beach front property... yes it is close to the beach but you do not have views of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LASTANZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We apologise afain for the communication error and we are pleased we were able to rectify the problem by being able to shift you to another room. Unfortunately by being on a peninsula with the ocean on one side, and the estuary on the other ,we only have two units with sea views,others with courtyards .With the great Hawkes bay weather we do recommend that you walk a few metres to the beach,or to the estuary so to the seaside port area of Ahuriri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Booked Fairley Motor Lodge for a business stop over and location was the main reason which was ideal.

The check in process was easy and we were made to feel most welcome, even had an upgrade to include a king size bed as I had my wife accompanying me on this trip.

The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was huge and the other amenities were excellent.

My one complaint is: there is a pipe in the wall between rooms 13 &14 which expands and contracts, the result is intermittent knocking. Avoid these 2 rooms and you will have a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank-you for your review. These two large studio units are very popular. There has been an occasional contraction noises coming from a pipe. We have tried to get this corrected but due to our concrete walls we have been unable to get into the wall. We will attempt to look into this again because a peaceful nights sleep is paramount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had a very comfortable night in this lovely well presented unit. Owner Hugh and staff made us most welcome. We had a one bedroom unit which was very quiet and very comfortable sitting area. Well equiped kitchen, a great spa bath and good desk area for business people. Happy to stay there again and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_ReTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
thankyou Irene.We look forward to seeing you back at the FAIRLEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hugh the host was very welcoming and informative, with lots of useful info about the Art Deco streets to visit, restaurants to dine out and the vineyards worth a look (and of course, a tasting!). Hugh's language could be rather colourful but only to be expected from a kiwi and it was all done in the best possible taste! (but then we are English, so unused to such honest humour!). Our room was lovely (a studio), spacious and clean, modern and well-equipped. Great outdoor private patio area (if only it hadn't been raining!).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hugh has missed his calling- he should have been on stage .!I am glad you enjoyed your stay!Jane (Hughs wife!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I thought this hotel was just excellent. All fittings were high quality, facilities were excellent and the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. Very clean, well furnished accommodation. We travelled with two kids and with 2 TVs & kitchen facilities, we were all well catered for.

Room Tip: This hotel is very close to Westshore beach - great to take the kids for a run about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalindib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you. We have a great staff that enjoy working here .We appreciate their high standards and they love to hear that their efforts are recognised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here in February, 2013. Hugh welcomed me at check-in as if he had all the time in the world. He gave me some great restaurant recommendations and things to do in Napier. The rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished and are huge. Good fast internet (although you have to get a free password card from reception). This is a great stop to enjoy the Art deco capital of the world!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
We love to help people to have a great experience while they stay in Napier and the Bay.Your comments are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Property: Fairley Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Tareha St (off Meeanee Quay) | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing