We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairley Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

When we arrived at Fairley we realised that we had stayed there previously. Loved it last time & this time even better. We had a newer unit - very spacious, lovely courtyard. Great position with the beach one side & a lovely estuary walk the other. We eat at the restaurant a short walk away. Great food. Would definitely recommend this. As we were heading north the next day, it was perfect position.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    62
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
119
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Good motel, we had a 1 bedroom, spacious, would benefit from an upgraded tv. Quiet comfortable. Close to the estuary on 1 side and the sea on the other, good for swimming. Napier is a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janonapier, manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2010
March 10-we have just put 18 32 LCD screens throughtout each unit in the motel offering 16 digital channels or next time you come you can put your feet up and watch TV to dawn !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Another great relaxing holiday weekend, a 2 minute walk to swim in the sea at Westshore and a 10 minute walk to a selection of great waterfront bars and restaurants (we tried the Thai one that was recommended and weren't disappointed). Our unit was very clean and comfortable and nothing to much trouble for the friendly hosts Hugh and Jane (borrowed their car washing gear and were provided with accurate local travel advice). Also pyjamas accidently left behind were promptly posted to our home address.
No Sunday paper but available from a dairy two blocks away. We will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonWillyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

The rooms were nice, spacious, very clean, no sign of wear 'n tear. The heater couldn't quite cope with the wintery weather, which was probably the only negative point I can mention.
Some of the recommended restaurants, including the fish 'n chips shop were closed during our stay so it was a bit of a struggle to find nice places to eat.
The Fairley Motor lodge is really nice, but a car is essential.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ippie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

A very comfortable stay only minutes walk from Napiers restaurants. Spacious rooms, kitchen, spa bath and private courtyard were welcome additions for the price. Beach and estuary gave us an excuse to stretch the legs. Hosts were great (if a little cheeky), but that added to the overall charm. Classic kiwi accomodation, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Property: Fairley Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Tareha St (off Meeanee Quay) | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location, just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre, across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your doorstep. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking at you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing