We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Marineland Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marineland Motels
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This Motel had all the facilities of a big hotel. The room was small but extremely comfortable and clean. There was heating and the bathroom was excellent. We tried to book an extra night, unfortunately they were full. We looked at a couple of motels on the same road which were appalling. There is a restaurant next door which we didn't visit. It was quite expensive and was full but the motel recommended it. Motel is slightly out of town but only a short drive to get in, not a short walk though. One of the best motels we stayed in during our month long stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Thankyou Vanessa for your kind words of encouragement. The smaller Standard Studios like the one you were in were completely gutted inside last year and remodelled with the help of a professional interior designer. Having an all new interior with air-conditioning is rendering them very popular

Thankyou also for the jovial banter that took place between us during your stay

Kind regards

Evan & Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Marineland Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

hosts and staff exceptionnally friendly and helpful ,with a brilliant location.accomadation clean and spacious with generous cooking facilities and equipment.We will certainly return on our next trip

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_rogai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

Thankyou Helen for your Kind words, we strive to help all our clients have the most pleasurable experience when they stay. We are now happy that we have the accommodation up to a very modern standard and our Housekeeping staff take pride in their work.

We look forward to your return visit and presenting you with your Marineland family member reward

Regards

Evan & Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I would not come back to stay in Marineland Motel.

Why? Firstly, the service was bad. I got an impression that it is just a pain for the receptionist to check people in and out and that people are just annoying her very much when they complain about specific issues (there were people compaining when I came to check us out). Secondly, it was rather expensive (150 NZD per night).

The place was also quite loud. It has a pool but there were lots of kids jumping around so no good for a relaxing swim.

The location is quite nice, next to the Napier beach and Pandora lagoon where you can hire kayaks and windsurfs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OpickaTerezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2011

It is with complete surprise I read "Opicka Terezka's comments about the experience at the Motel. I'm sure everyone would agree that if it was my wife and I on duty at the front desk at this time, the report would be presenting a situation that was completely out of character for us. I can only assume this experience occurred while we were away on holiday in late December. No I'm not rebutting the report but we will certainly take the matter up with our relievers.
In the matter of behaviour in the pool, this is something that should be managed by both parents and management. Jumping in the pool is not permitted and is usually controlled by a quiet word to the offending bathers. However, we are very much a family motel at holiday times and children will be children wont they.

With regard to pricing, I can only say market forces help determine what is charged and while our current structure won't meet "everybody's" needs the fact that we are experiencing full occupancy for most nights during the week, I am happy with our tariff as it is. Having said that, keep an eye on our website or Facebook for special deals, they can appear at any time

As management, we accept this client has not had a pleasurable experience for which we apologise. We strive to ensure our clients get an enjoyable experience at Marineland Motel so without hesitation we offer the member a free 2 night stay, plus full cooked breakfast each morning at a future date. Offer is contingent on the client proving to us the date they stayed with us in December and the free nights must be taken within 6 months of 15/01/11 (we suggest not School Holidays and a weekend would be best)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Comfortable Family Room, great restaurant environment and supurb food and all topped off by warm and friendly management. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conspectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner007, Manager at Marineland Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Thankyou "Conspectus" for your comments. It is encouraging to get such positive feed back. Both Motel & Restaurant strive to make our clients stay a positively memorable one, we don't always succeed but it is not for the want of trying. Our industry has been hit hard by the recession but we still continue to invest in upgrading our facilities.
Please use this invitation to seek a 12.5% discount off your next stay with us

Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

In spite of a lovely welcome from the owner (and delightful grand daughter) who made a special effort for our parking requirements, it was all downhill from there. I do object to furniture that is threadbare to the extent there are holes in the arms etc. A bed that is so hard that the floor felt welcoming. The plumbing of the neighbouring units was a wake up call at midnight, noises in the ceiling had us wondering of what could befall us by daylight and the whole complex is what it is..... a very old motel, refurbished or not! The 'courtyard' was sad, decrepit and very unloved. The service in the associated restaurant where the service was to say at the very least abysmal! Totally overpriced for the surroundings/ fixtures/table settings etc, believe me there are much better dining experiences to be had than here. (Having said that it was obvious if you were a 'regular' you did receive extra attention)
I stayed here on a very good friends recomendation who had spent considerable time here previously so I have no axe to grind. Sadly this establishment is very tired and I suggest you do as the owner says. Check it out, don't book it online and commit yourselves . Enough said!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CptK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner007, Owner at Marineland Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

We are sorry "CPTK" was not happy with his stay at Marineland Motel. Most of the units here have been fully refurbished infact we have only 4 of the 23 left to do. Those that are left to do are priced accordingly. The CPTK contacted the office about the concern we would have moved them to a newer unit

With regard the Restaurant I am also saddened their experience was not to their liking suffice to say it has won awards for quality of dining and just recently won the "Service" award for outstanding service - in a competition that was run in the Hawkes Bay

We strive to ensure our clients have a pleasurable experience at both the Motel and Restaurant. We would therefore extend to CPTK free accommodation for 2 nights in 1 of our new Executive units and dinner for 2 (3 courses plus wine) in the Restaurant

Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Me and my father stayed at the Napier Marineland Motel on 1 June 2010. I found the owners to be very friendy and more than helpful. The motel unit was very nice and warm. Warm being the most important thing as it was very cold in Napier the day me and my father arrived. We were pasting through on way to stay with other family.

I would hightly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhamlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

A 2 night stay with proximity to the airport and all our needs were met. Our recently refurbed rooms were very clean and simple but stylish. The shower was awesome and some nice touches in the kitchen inc real coffee for caffetiere. We were also lucky to have a sea view and 'separate' entrance, not important, but nice. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and bent over bcakwards to make sure we were comfortable and had all that we needed. A great find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyof5Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#25 of 47 in Napier
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#24 of 47 in Napier
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marineland Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marineland Motels

Address: 19 Meeanee Quay, Westshore, | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#20 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marineland Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel, all ground floor accommodation with an official Qualmark rating of 4 star and an Environmental rating of silver. We have a fully licensed restaurant on site run by qualified chef's. We are situated in a lovely quiet area of Napier beside the ocean and within easy walking distance of Napier's Marina and some of Napiers most popular bars and cafe's. Vehicle parking is all off road and free. The range of accommodation available reflects the professional upgrades to the facility only recently completed and complements various room types available, from the essential smaller but air-conditioned over night- bed and bathroom studio for 2, to the latest luxury fully self contained Apartment that sleeps 7 situated on its own secure section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marineland Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marineland Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing