We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Wellington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location and service plus”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A one night stay that turned into two because we liked it so much. Third floor is the place to be, great views across the marina and also quiet. Rooms well appointed and very comfortable, free wifi a bonus.
The hosts were great and accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble, even adding an extra night in peak season.
Location wise, it's handy to some nice eateries and bars, and a short hop into Napier. All in all, highly recommended

Room Tip: Third floor was great, ground floor a little noisy from people above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
49
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stay there on our transit to Wellington, even is far away from the center but this is the only reasonable hotel where is our bus stop nearby. It just like at home, with full cooking facilities, at least we can prepare something hot for our dinner, we stay in the ground level, with nice view of harbour, they have their coin operated laundry service which is cheaper than in backpackers hostel. with only 4 dollar we can wash and dry our clothes.

Staff is very helpful which is believe operated by two lovely husband & wife. With the amount that we paid, I thinks this is the great price that we get while we travel around New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The best part of staying at the Anchorage was the view over the sailing basin and the back harbor. Another good reason to stay there was that it's walking distance to some good restaurants such as the Thirsty Whale. However, it's a long way from central Napier and the Art Deco center of the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were wanting to stay somewhere closer to the central city, however it was a busy week in Napier and the Anchorage was one of only a few that had vacancies at a reasonable rate. I did a little research on the Ahuriri area and found that its quite a busy little place that had lots of cafes, restaurants and a small village type shopping area and still within a few minutes drive of central city. Our studio unit was perfect for our two nights stay and of course the view is just great, we were on the second level and all the units look out over the marina. Thank goodness there is a lift to take you and your luggage to the upper level, a real bonus.
As one other reviewer noted, other guests have to walk past your unit to get to theirs, I didn't find this a problem, as there are net curtains for privacy and most people are mindful and courteous. FREE wireless internet is definitely something I look for when staying anywhere and of course you have that here at the Anchorage. Being able to walk down to the marina and have such wonderful cafes and restaurants so close was just fantastic. On both mornings we walked along the boardwalk and then to one of the waterfront cafes for breakfast and on the way back we watched a fishing trawler being unloaded with its freshly caught load of fish. An added highlight! I wonder if those fishermen get tired of having their photo taken by the many tourists who stop and watch?
I would happily stay here again and I am glad that we discovered this area of Napier city. I wonder if I had found somewhere else to stay, would we have ventured up to the Auhuriri area? Hmmmm...maybe not. So if you come to Napier, do come up and check out this great little seaside village.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the upper level units, simply for the view. I think all the rooms are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great motel rooms are huge with excellent cooking facilities views are great & plenty of pubs and restaraunts nearby

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangerei
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here on a particularly cold night. Service is inobtrusive and friendly, making me feel welcome. The heater was sufficient to keep me warm after 30 mins or so, but it was one of the coldest nights for years. The rooms are large for a motel at this price, spa bath was nice to have and kitchen space is sufficient for an overnight or two. Plenty of eateries around and some pleasant walking. Good and prompt breakfast available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Received a very warm welcome. Our studio apartment was spacious and very comfortable. Location is on the edge of town, not really within walking distance of centre but the drive in is easy and there is plenty of parking in town centre. Views over the yacht basin and plenty of bars and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#22 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motor Lodge

Property: Anchorage Motor Lodge
Address: 26 West Quay Ahuriri,, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing