We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in Time, 1930's Deco Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Napier
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back in Time, 1930's Deco Week”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for a couple of days at this hotel. The room was vey comfortable and spacious.
We arrived in the midst of art deco week in Napier. The people dressed in the 1930's style, drove 1930's vintage cars, vintage motorbikes and bicycles. It was fascinating and enjoyable to see, most interesting almost like being transported relativistically back in time! We went for long walks on the beach and have also enjoyed our swims in warm Pacific ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
49
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here for the Art Deco week-end and it was an ideal location for getting around, we had a spacious room with a spa bath and a small kitchen with full size fridge, microwave and cooking rings, it also has all the extras needed, i.e. tea and coffee, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, fan, iternet access and flat screen t.v.. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were given a complimentary carton of milk on arrival. We had a stunning view of the marina accross the road and a good selection of eating places were well within walking distance and catered to every taste. I am planning to return in 2015 and will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We chose Anchorage Motor Lodge for our two-night stay in Napier because it was perfect for our planned fishing trip leaving from the wharf just opposite. The owners were very helpful and friendly, letting us use the Lodge kitchen to cook the fish we caught on that trip. Our second-floor room was large, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a big spa bath which was very welcome. Cooking facilities included a two-ring electric hob as well as the standard microwave, fridge and basic utensils. If you don't feel like making breakfast, you can also order breakfast in the room or go to a cafe down the road. Wireless internet is free. Ahuriri has lots of good cafes and restaurants just a step away though you need transport to go into Napier itself.

The upstairs rooms all give onto a walkway/balcony, with some tables set into open recesses. This has the advantage that all the rooms face the harbour but means that you could find strangers eating an al fresco dinner (or breakfast) right outside your room (we asked permission, which was speedily granted by our neighbours).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We picked this accommodation for an overnight stay because we wanted to park up the car and walk to a great choice of food along the waterfront. We experienced a friendly reception and were placed in a second storey room with a beautiful view over the marina. The room was excellent. It was a studio, about twice the size of some studios we've stayed in. King sized bed that was very comfy, all the amenities including a spa bath and free wireless. Great stuff. We know we'll be going back to try it again. The choice of food within 5 minutes walking covers everybody's tastes. From full blown restaurant nosh to cafe style and everything in between. The ambiance is excellent, fishing boats moored across the road, outdoor dining at it's best.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the harbor, but level 2 studios, being the top floor can't be compared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Napier a couple of times and always stay out in Ahuriri. The location is just too lovely not to. Watching the boats coming in and out from your accommodation or over dinner is just too good. Anchorage is well situated for this and is a short stroll to some lovely restaurants. The rooms were nice and clean and had fans as it got really warm. The only fault I could comment on was the service. On arrival the receptionist was very quick with us and could have been a little friendlier. We thought she may have just been having a busy moment. After arriving back from dinner and drinks the 1st night we stayed here, our power went. We presumed it was just a tripped switch but couldn't find a power box by the lights of our phones. Neither could we find an after hour contact number for some assistance. We headed to bed and the following morning found the box just between the bedroom doors. We tripped the switchbback and it never happened again. When we went back to reception to ask for some advice on sites, again we were very quick to be dismissed and left none the wiser. Upon check out, we notified the receptionist about the power issue. She just said 'yes, it happens, its an old place'! If this is a regular occurrence, an after hours contact number would be very helpful. Or even some advice on what to do or the whereabouts of the power box in the visitor book in the room. We finished by asking some directions. When the receptionist couldn't be of any help a little smile wound have been nice so at least we may not have walked out feeling like she didn't care.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Easy to find and well situated for the Marina. Motel is helpfully labelled in large letters visible from the road behind it, which was the way our TomTom took us. Even on Labour Day there were places within easy walking distance open for food in the evening. Very helpful at the desk: they loaned us a lamp because we found the room too dark for knitting / embroidery, but probably not a problem for most people with standard eyesight. Possibly the smallest container of milk I have been given at a motel, and would probably not have been enough if we had filled the 2-bedroom apartment. Easy drive behind the port to the Marine Parade area with easy access to all Napier's attractions.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A one night stay that turned into two because we liked it so much. Third floor is the place to be, great views across the marina and also quiet. Rooms well appointed and very comfortable, free wifi a bonus.
The hosts were great and accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble, even adding an extra night in peak season.
Location wise, it's handy to some nice eateries and bars, and a short hop into Napier. All in all, highly recommended

Room Tip: Third floor was great, ground floor a little noisy from people above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#24 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Napier
Econo Lodge Napier
#25 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motor Lodge

Property: Anchorage Motor Lodge
Address: 26 West Quay Ahuriri,, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Anchorage Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing