We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous time had by all”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just spent three nights here... Room very spacious, clean and great housekeeping. Hotel manager was a doll, very obliging as our club took over the whole place! Our room was quiet despite closeness to road. Great location to good restaurants and bars

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
49
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have stayed here on a previous occasion and will be back. The motel room was large, clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast served in the room was good value for money and delivered at the time we stated. My husband was there for business and this motel is situated well for an accompanying spouse or partner. There is a busstop just outside the motel and a range of excellent restaurants in the same area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the corridors have the most privacy, with nobody walking past you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zirka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a third floor unit, The motel staff were very friendly and helpful with their suggestions and gave us free milk on arrival. The room was large and clean and had a kitchenette; however there was no hot plate or cook top. The guest laundry was $2 for the dryer and the washer was free. There was plenty of parking and the place was only minutes from the downtown and within walking distance of some great eateries. Two drawbacks; the bed was very low, by our standards, and very soft and springy; also there is a rail track and highway to the port at the rear. If you're a light sleeper you might want to consider earplugs, although it may be quieter on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Lower floor units may be quieter because of the property line wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for a couple of days at this hotel. The room was vey comfortable and spacious.
We arrived in the midst of art deco week in Napier. The people dressed in the 1930's style, drove 1930's vintage cars, vintage motorbikes and bicycles. It was fascinating and enjoyable to see, most interesting almost like being transported relativistically back in time! We went for long walks on the beach and have also enjoyed our swims in warm Pacific ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here for the Art Deco week-end and it was an ideal location for getting around, we had a spacious room with a spa bath and a small kitchen with full size fridge, microwave and cooking rings, it also has all the extras needed, i.e. tea and coffee, ironing board, iron, hairdryer, fan, iternet access and flat screen t.v.. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we were given a complimentary carton of milk on arrival. We had a stunning view of the marina accross the road and a good selection of eating places were well within walking distance and catered to every taste. I am planning to return in 2015 and will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We chose Anchorage Motor Lodge for our two-night stay in Napier because it was perfect for our planned fishing trip leaving from the wharf just opposite. The owners were very helpful and friendly, letting us use the Lodge kitchen to cook the fish we caught on that trip. Our second-floor room was large, clean and comfortable, and the bathroom had a big spa bath which was very welcome. Cooking facilities included a two-ring electric hob as well as the standard microwave, fridge and basic utensils. If you don't feel like making breakfast, you can also order breakfast in the room or go to a cafe down the road. Wireless internet is free. Ahuriri has lots of good cafes and restaurants just a step away though you need transport to go into Napier itself.

The upstairs rooms all give onto a walkway/balcony, with some tables set into open recesses. This has the advantage that all the rooms face the harbour but means that you could find strangers eating an al fresco dinner (or breakfast) right outside your room (we asked permission, which was speedily granted by our neighbours).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We picked this accommodation for an overnight stay because we wanted to park up the car and walk to a great choice of food along the waterfront. We experienced a friendly reception and were placed in a second storey room with a beautiful view over the marina. The room was excellent. It was a studio, about twice the size of some studios we've stayed in. King sized bed that was very comfy, all the amenities including a spa bath and free wireless. Great stuff. We know we'll be going back to try it again. The choice of food within 5 minutes walking covers everybody's tastes. From full blown restaurant nosh to cafe style and everything in between. The ambiance is excellent, fishing boats moored across the road, outdoor dining at it's best.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the harbor, but level 2 studios, being the top floor can't be compared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Lodge
Harbour View Lodge
#23 of 47 in Napier
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Motor Lodge

Property: Anchorage Motor Lodge
Address: 26 West Quay Ahuriri,, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing