We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gardner Court Motel
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Napier is one of the prettiest towns to visit and our stay was enhanced by the warm welcome that we received from Peter and the standard of the unit. The view over the park is very nice and the motel is situated so that everything is in easy reach, one of the nicest places to stay in New Zealand. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable, all in all an excellent motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel a number of times now and find it to be one of the nicest we have stayed at in NZ.

The rooms are clean, tidy and a good size and ours had a great view out into the nearby park.

The kitchen facilities are very good with both a hob and an oven being included.

The owners are friendly and helpful.

The only small downside is that it is about a fifteen minute walk into the city centre but all the upsides of staying here more than outweigh that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is truly a gem. It's close to downtown Napier with the seaside walk and restaurants. The property is very well managed with clean, updated units, tidy yards with flowers, tables and chairs for dining outside. The pool is private, clean and very inviting on a warm day. Everything is there for cooking - except a coffee plunger since so many people walk off with them. Bathroom is small but functions well. TV but no wifi. Great price around $100 for 1 bedroom. You won't be sorry you stopped here. It's quiet too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthCuritiba_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I arrived at this hotel for my annual holiday with my wife and 3 daughters. We had only been there for 2 hours and I was abused for slamming the pool gate and using the towels from the room! The owner was very abusive and he also was very nasty to my wife. Very disappointing so we checked out and he still insisted on $120! I don't think that Gardner Court will be winning any service awards anytime soon. Not a great start to our holiday and my advice would be to steer clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 241167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stay here for a week once a year for work and always find it clean, comfy and good value for money.The owners are friendly and helpful. It is close to the city center and shops etc, but removed enough to be quiet and peaceful as it backs onto a park.
Thanks Peter and Ann - great motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1811027Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stay here every year when I come to Napier for work. Peter and Ann are so nice. Peter always offers to pick me up from the airport which is unusual for a motel to offer this service and very handy too! Very quiet and spotless units. They remind me of how motels use to be - a home away from home with everything you might need provided. Very inexpensive for what you get. Nice and close to supermarkets and town but not bang in the middle of things which means you have the quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoyo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needingworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed for one night here and found the motel good value for money. It is not near the sea front, but is only a 10-15 minute walk with supermarkets nearby. The accommodation is clean and warm and fits in with the Art Deco theme of Napier. The owners were very helpful and gave us some fruit when we arrived. We also left our car there on the day we left while we walked into town. Would recommend if you are looking for somewhere cheaper to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JOT3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Napier Garden Motel
Napier Garden Motel
#30 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#20 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#22 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#15 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Spanish Lady Motel
Spanish Lady Motel
#29 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardner Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardner Court Motel

Property: Gardner Court Motel
Address: 16 Nelson Crescent | (Off Kennedy Rd.), Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gardner Court Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gardner Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing