We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour View Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
72
75
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
75
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast pierspa bathextra rooman executive suiteboard walkinteresting shopscutlery and crockeryelectric frypandownstairs roomoutdoor furnituregood sized bathroomwithin walking distancelovely viewfree wifigrabone dealupon checkan update
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Harbour View and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Napier!! Our room had fantastic views, was clean, spacious and surprisingly quite large. The spa bath too was a real treat! When we checked in the owner was pleasant and helpful and she also recommended some good dinner spots that we could try, she suggested East Pier and what was even better they delivered to our room!
Upon check out we were running a tad bit late as we have a young baby and called reception and they were very understanding and were able to organise a late check out for us!

Overall we had a fantastic experience and will definitely be back!! After reading an earlier review about the service I was a bit cautious but I can honestly say that we never experienced anything of this sort and found both owners to be nothing but helpful. My partner and I look forward to our stay in the near future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirarn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived in Napier looking for a room. This motel was just outside near Perfume Point. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who showed us to a lovely unit where we stayed two nights. We walked out of the French doors onto the beach. The unit had two rooms, a large sitting and dining area and a lovely bedroom. The bathroom was perfect for us. Everyone at he hotel was friendly. We walked into Napier a rwasonable walk but after driving for a few days we needed the exercise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently were in Napier for the anniversary of my Mothers death and were recommended to stay at the Harbour View Motor Lodge. Check in went well, receptionist at the time was very pleasant. When we entered our room (was a very windy day) we noticed that the wind was whistling through all of the windows, nothing we can do, "its the wind". However we wanted to catch to news before going out for tea but no Prime channel, we were told by reception that the electrician had been in mucked up the channels, nothing I can do, here by myself was the response. We went out for tea and came back, went to get a drink from the fridge, not working, rung reception, told nothing they can do but could store food in their fridge (same electrician error). Next thing bang bang at the door (after 9pm at night) and there's a lady at the door with a fridge! No introduction as to who she was, and seemed to us that it was a HUGE inconvenience that this wasn't working! Turned out this was the new owner and unfortunately she had NO customer service skills. We complained about the extreme whistling of the wind through the window seals and were told "nothing I can do, its the weather, not the windows". We asked if we could be moved to another room, and this was done reluctantly after a lot of raised voices and us pointing out her lack of customer consideration and her rude and abrupt manner. We received no apology, nothing, no further contact till departure. Interestingly, the second room had weather proofed windows and there was no wind whistle at all. Unfortunately we will not be returning to this Motor Lodge as long as this very rude owner is there.

Room Tip: Do not have the rooms at either end if its a windy day.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Situated by the port area with lots of cafes, bars, shops and restaurants within an easy short walk. Some very close. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed and view. Can sit outside and enjoy the sun.
Reception very pleasant and gave us an early check-in which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great place to stay.

Right on the waterfront around by the port.

Excellent view from the upstairs room with a balcony.

Could see all the port operations but no noise.

Great at night with all the lights.

Room was spacious and very clean.

Bed was comfortable.

Reception was very friendly and happy to help.

Restaurant at the end of the path so not far to go for a great meal.

Will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs - great views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews