We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views with friendly service”
Review of Harbour View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Lodge
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing views with friendly service”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom until upstairs with amazing ocean views. The room had everything we needed. Large TV in one of the bedrooms was a bonus. Very quiet place to stay with very little road noise. The service was great from the time we arrived. They also offered the room at an ongoing discounted rate for future and regular visits. There was also a spacious fridge/freezer which we needed for all the fresh fruit we purchased at the orchards! There have been ongoing improvements to this motel and it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    68
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
75
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hawkes Bay and Napier were high on our list of places to visit and as the Bay came into view, we got quite excited at its beauty. Once in Napier, we wanted to find a sea-view accommodation for the night and the i pointed us in the direction of the Harbour View Lodge. A very comfortable, clean and modern room looked out over the sea; all utilities functioned well and we enjoyed a good night’s sleep; dawn broke with the sun pouring into our room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Harbour View and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Napier!! Our room had fantastic views, was clean, spacious and surprisingly quite large. The spa bath too was a real treat! When we checked in the owner was pleasant and helpful and she also recommended some good dinner spots that we could try, she suggested East Pier and what was even better they delivered to our room!
Upon check out we were running a tad bit late as we have a young baby and called reception and they were very understanding and were able to organise a late check out for us!

Overall we had a fantastic experience and will definitely be back!! After reading an earlier review about the service I was a bit cautious but I can honestly say that we never experienced anything of this sort and found both owners to be nothing but helpful. My partner and I look forward to our stay in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirarn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived in Napier looking for a room. This motel was just outside near Perfume Point. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who showed us to a lovely unit where we stayed two nights. We walked out of the French doors onto the beach. The unit had two rooms, a large sitting and dining area and a lovely bedroom. The bathroom was perfect for us. Everyone at he hotel was friendly. We walked into Napier a rwasonable walk but after driving for a few days we needed the exercise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UlverstonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We recently were in Napier for the anniversary of my Mothers death and were recommended to stay at the Harbour View Motor Lodge. Check in went well, receptionist at the time was very pleasant. When we entered our room (was a very windy day) we noticed that the wind was whistling through all of the windows, nothing we can do, "its the wind". However we wanted to catch to news before going out for tea but no Prime channel, we were told by reception that the electrician had been in mucked up the channels, nothing I can do, here by myself was the response. We went out for tea and came back, went to get a drink from the fridge, not working, rung reception, told nothing they can do but could store food in their fridge (same electrician error). Next thing bang bang at the door (after 9pm at night) and there's a lady at the door with a fridge! No introduction as to who she was, and seemed to us that it was a HUGE inconvenience that this wasn't working! Turned out this was the new owner and unfortunately she had NO customer service skills. We complained about the extreme whistling of the wind through the window seals and were told "nothing I can do, its the weather, not the windows". We asked if we could be moved to another room, and this was done reluctantly after a lot of raised voices and us pointing out her lack of customer consideration and her rude and abrupt manner. We received no apology, nothing, no further contact till departure. Interestingly, the second room had weather proofed windows and there was no wind whistle at all. Unfortunately we will not be returning to this Motor Lodge as long as this very rude owner is there.

Room Tip: Do not have the rooms at either end if its a windy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Situated by the port area with lots of cafes, bars, shops and restaurants within an easy short walk. Some very close. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed and view. Can sit outside and enjoy the sun.
Reception very pleasant and gave us an early check-in which was appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great place to stay.

Right on the waterfront around by the port.

Excellent view from the upstairs room with a balcony.

Could see all the port operations but no noise.

Great at night with all the lights.

Room was spacious and very clean.

Bed was comfortable.

Reception was very friendly and happy to help.

Restaurant at the end of the path so not far to go for a great meal.

Will happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#18 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Lodge

Property: Harbour View Lodge
Address: 60 Nelson Quay | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour View Lodge Napier's only motel accommodation on the beach Welcome to Harbour View Lodge, Napier's only Motel Lodge on the beach. Located in the popular suburb of Ahuriri, you will find yourself relaxing in your room while looking out over the Pacific Ocean. Harbour View Lodge offers 32 spacious units all with full sea views. Napier city centre and the Airport are both an easy 5 minute drive away. Easy access to the boardwalk and beach directly from your unit. Whether you are a corporate traveller looking for some relaxation or a family looking for outdoor adventure, Harbour View Lodge is the perfect place to stay while visiting Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing