We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpackers accommodation in a landmark building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
Peresvet
Level Contributor
792 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Backpackers accommodation in a landmark building.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Criterion backpackers guesthouse is located in the most photographed building of Napier town, as was stated in their advertisement. I can confirm it. The building is really remarkable and ideally situated on the central street, close to the ocean beach. Rooms were mostly small with shared facilities. Ours had a washbasin. On my opinion they need some refurbishment. Kitchen and dining room are spacious and still keep an interior design of 30-ties years of the 20th century. Hotel provides light self-service breakfast for their guests in the morning and in other time guests are free to use kitchen facilities for their own needs. In the same building downstairs is located a cafe-bar, owned I suppose by the same proprietor. Guests, seems, are supposed to come with their own towels, but when we`ve asked for for ourselves, we were provided by. I was satisfied by chosen accommodation in Napier and can recommend it to for backpackers, as well as for budget travelers wishing to stay in a centrally located inexpensive guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
36
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My main issue with this hostel was the lack of parking. Apparently they had free parking but it was full so was had to park about 1/2 mile away. The room was small, nothing great. Shared bathrooms were fine, clean enough. The free breakfast was toast and canned fruit. We went downstairs to a coffee shop instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sln6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesseling, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Criterion Art Deco Backpackers with a friend last week and I was really surprised. That was the first hostel I've been to who offers a free breakfast and limited free wireless. Also it offers free local calls for their guests.
The rooms were nice and tidy. Also the bathrooms including the showers were clean.
The hostel is located close to the beach and directly in the main street with a lot of shopping opportunites, so it has a great location :)
The only thing that was not good, that they had no parking places available. We had to get up every morning at 7:30 to put money in the coin meter.
But anyway we extended our stay for another night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in a double room and really enjoyed the place. The hostel is located right in the city center, on one of the main streets. This means being very central, in the middle of the beautiful artdeco architecture but also in the middle of the late night noise. This is probably the only thing we didn't appreciate about the place.
The communal space is great - after all it's art deco, high ceilings, big fireplace...The kitchen is big and very well equipped too (with free coffee), there's free breakfast (basic but a nice touch overall). Although the place is located on one of the streets where you're not allowed to park, they do provide parking in a nearby private car park for free. We were pleasantly surprised by this...
All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agatabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a great stay here, we had only booked 2 beds and then met someone else who decided to stay with us there were no more rooms available in the dorm we'd been booked in to so we were upgraded for free to a quad room. Very friendly staff and rooms were clean with the added bonus of a sink in each room.
The free Breakfast was basic but perfectly adequate, fantastic location as well the most central Hostel we found.
Only downside to this Hostel was the free Wifi didnt work and was impossibly slow but hardly even a complaint worth making.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The whole interesting fact about Napier is that it is an Art Deco town. Of course it's cool to stay in an Art Deco hostel as well, but the place felt kind of weird, maybe because it was kind of empty in winter time, but there was a strange vibe in the place, which did not feel pleasant. The owner was moody. The location is excellent though and I had a good night's sleep, so I would say it is a good stay, since I cannot explain the weird feeling I got from the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Don't stay here. If you can afford to pay at least a bit more per night elsewhere, where you're going to get a decent level of service and a quality stay, and actually SLEEP, then I highly recommend you do so. While I admit it is not the hostel managements fault that a very loud pub is right across the street from many rooms with noisy patrons and loud music and speakerphones going until about 3am, then loud roadworks machines and street works starting up at about 6am, I felt completely cheated and disgusted that, after reading all the false reviews saying this place is lovely and they had a great night's sleep and were very comfortable, they took all my money off my credit card at the time of booking, then were completely unhelpful and actually WALKED AWAY when I asked if there was another single room on the other side of the hostel that was available and quieter. The hostel was at least half empty! The person I asked, twice because they just walked away from me the first time, was a young male backpacker working there with a bit of an 'I don't care too much' attitude. However, another older male traveller also working there was lovely to deal with when I asked for more bedding after my first night. The single bed was below average and rather uncomfortable. I'm not a tall person, but seriously only a dwarf could have room to move in there. The reading light is positioned so you whack the back of your head on it when you sit back.
Also bad luck for me and my timing were a few of the other travellers - young guys who snort, hock, spit, yell, swear and then stare and wolf whistle at any female who walks past. Really, really unpleasant! I was so angry about the situation and their bad response to my request that I find it hard to have anything positive to say. While it's certainly cheap, you get breakfast thrown in for free, can save further money by using the large kitchen to cook your meals, and the place is cleaned up every day, my stay at the Criterion has really brought home that expression "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR". And I sincerely don't mean that in a good way.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansSoloNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.4 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Art Deco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Property: Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
Address: City Centre 48 Emerson Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Criterion Art Deco Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing