We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed two nights with friends in this nice looking place. Location is great and central! Rooms were tidy and atmosphere good. Free breakfast in the morning was definately a great plus!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juho H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here last week (mid March) and arrived late so possibly were given the worst room in the place (14). We had booked a private twin en-suite and were given what looked like a converted public toilet. 2 small beds, toughened frosted glass windows & a toilet & shower cubicle with a foot gap to the floor and the vacant/engaged latch on the door which you get in some public loos. It was very depressing more like a cell. The next day we asked to move and were given an outside double room (9) which was 100% better so the experience will depend on what room you get.
As other travellers have mentioned, there is a free pool table and unfortunately as there are no staff on duty at night, this was used until the early hours so was quite noisy.
The whole place could definitely do with a refurbish as it isn't that cheap compared with better backpackers we have visited around the rest of New Zealand. The free breakfast is a nice touch though and was regularly topped up. It is dead central and if I had to, would stay here again as long as we got there early to have a pick of rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room looking out to the street not to the interior.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you like your backpacking with a bit of grunge thrown in - stay here. It is old school. Yes the building on the outside is art deco but on the inside it leaves a lot to be desired. There seems to be a penchant for noise late into the night with us being able to lie in our bed and hear the karoke from downstairs on one night and then the bar across the road on the other. Not the best place for great sleep. Good that there was a basin in the room. Good that there was a "continental" breakfast and then free pool but there is a lot of room to improve here. And a tip for those needing wifi - dont bother with the free wifi in the hostel - use the Napier free wifi if you can pick it up.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelllips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here one night in a double room. If you like Art Deco and memorable hostels, this is a good one- it's beautiful. But the manager is not very friendly (a bit creepy to me when my husband wasn't with me, in fact), so that kind of dims the fun a bit.

Pluses:
- amazing Art Deco atmosphere in the Art Deco capital of the world
- free breakfast, a rarity in New Zealand
- free wi-fi, although it's SNAIL SLOW
- great in-town location
- sinks in the double rooms
- sort-of free parking (about 2 blocks away)

Minuses:
- unfriendly manager. He even told us "you can't stay an extra night, there's no room," when in fact HostelBookers.com showed a double vacancy. Not sure why we didn't measure up to his standards.
- unisex toilets//showers. Usually this isn't a problem, but they're next door to each other, making you ask WHY they aren't men's/women's. And more than 1 creepy guy hangs out while you shower.
- crappy wi-fi (though to be fair, all of NZ has this issue)
- no enforced quiet times- noisy backpackers yakked outside our room until 2am

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The backpackers gives a unique place to stay. The building itself is stunning, a little bit of upkeep wouldn't hurt. But the building itself has character and charm. Its tall ceilings and open communal areas create a great environment for socialising and general relaxation. It has a wonderful central location, the balcony give you a chance to take in the quirky town from a different view.
The facilities are good and the free breakfast is a plus. For somewhere a little different to stay it is well worth considering the Cri.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittyc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

we stayed here for 1 night. It is a lovely building, with great spacious communal areas.

The guy on reception was very unhelpful. They advertise parking, but it's a space in a car park a few streets away, you can't park out front, so we had to carry all our stuff which was a pain. He didn't explain this very well, then was quite miserable while checking us in.

The room was ok, could have been cleaner. We could hear the nightclub most of the night too, but we were in the centre of town, so you have to expect noise.

The whole building needs a bit of TLC. It looks a bit tired.

free breakfast is a winner though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Criterion for two nights. It was fab staying in an Art Deco building, and I loved the big communal area upstairs with the high ceilings and being able to go out onto the balcony and look out over town. The kitchen was big and the fridges etc had plenty of space. They also offer free breakfast with cereal, toast and fruit which was great! We had a car and they managed to get us a free parking space about 5 minutes away. It was a little bit noisy at night, but I suppose that's to be expected when you're right in the centre. We had the window closed which made it really stuffy, but the room had a fan which definitely helped. All in allm definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#9 of 34 in Napier
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dome
The Dome
#5 of 34 in Napier
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Art Deco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Address: City Centre 48 Emerson Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £30 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing