We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Art Deco building!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
London, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Art Deco building!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Perfectly located, lots of shopping and the beach is a block away!
Great kitchen, huge lounge area. Room was tiny, but a great ensuite, also very clean!
Nice in house staff....Martin in particular!
Met some great people in the lounge area, and cooking in the evening was a blast!
Helpful staff for guiding you to tours etc. also mailing postcards which I had forgot along the way!
Weekends there is a farmers market just up the square, and the grocery store is very handy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side, away from the ocean side! Bar noise loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
36
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed in the Criterion with my boyfriend between Christmas and New Year and had a private double room. We don't mind slumming it a bit in backpackers, and the kitchen and common room area was fine. The common room has cool art deco furnishings and design, which you don't normally see! And I liked all the plants in the dining room - kind of like a rain forest.

However, I did not sleep a wink the night that we stayed as the sound insulation is non-existent. There was loud music playing in the common room all night, even though there was noone in there. My boyfriend went to turn it off late at night, but it promptly came back on again later by a phantom person. I understand that managers of hostels cannot be responsible for their guests' behavious, but I also did not appreciate having to listen to a drunk man throwing up ALL night in the bathroom next to our bedroom. Disgusting!!

The bathrooms and showers are also unisex, which I didn't really like.

The location is good, as you are right in the centre of town, but the backpackers is right on top of a night club, which didn't close until 3am, when all the punters spilled out onto the street screaming their heads off.

I would suggest, if you are after a party-hard place to stay and don't care about sleeping, this place would be fine. If you actually WANT to get some rest on your holiday, so stay well away!

We stayed in the Masonic Hotel round the corner on our second night for about $50 extra, and this was SOOOOOO much nicer!

Please get some sound insulation sorted out guys, or have SOME kind of warden who keeps the noise down of punters from midnight onwards.

Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
615 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I had a queen ensuite that was a nice size and had a walk-in closet. Continental breakfast included, as is wi-fi. For those with a car, parking is free and a block away. Manager is very congenial and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the brasserie could get a bit noisy on the evenings it is open late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was terrible!. The room was nothing like we expected and the whole place was in serious need of renovation. The managers were creepy, and sleeping on the couch in the common room. Really weird! The kitchen was dirty and the refrigerators really needed to be replaced. There was no atmosphere in this hostel. Worst place I´ve ever been!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PYB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

OK, so I think this hostel is in definite need of refurbishment, but I think calling the manager "creepy" is a step too far. I was travelling on my own, but found the Manager friendly and approachable at all times. He answered all my questions and was polite. I did not find him creepy at all. The free breakfast was also good (museli, cereal, fruit and toast). The kitchen was spacious and well equiped, although some of the chopping boards etc need replacing and updating. There were also no hairdryers as they have been stolen, which was a bit of a downside in winter. The hostel is in a good location and the lounge is spacious and a good place to meet people. The TV room is also separate, which I prefer, especially for reading. There was a nice atmosphere here, if a little laddish at times (but aren't all hostels like this?). My mattress was sagging in the middle and also needs replacing, but the showers were quite clean. Compared to the excellent standard of other hostels in NZ, this place has a lot to live up to, so I probably wouldn't recommend it to others. I booked it because of the Lonely Planet "our pick" recommendation, but have learnt that these quickly go out of date and wouldn't trust them again. There were no maps available at the hostel, but go to the nearby iSite, they are excellent.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a private room if you can afford it and really want to stop here. Two nights is probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We arrived here at night - right from the time we pulled up in our car, we had a not so good feeling. I'm not sure if it was just the time when we were there, but the streets were pretty much barren except for some punk-looking people - it was unsettling. When went up the stairs and it took awhile to find the manager to check in. He was a little strange, as others have pointed out. I don't remember cleanliness being an issue, it was just a little creepy-feeling. Not very busy when we were there - only a few guests. We also ate in the bar downstairs and it was pretty much empty too. The outside is nice, but the inside is old - I kind of felt like I was in a haunted house, complete with creepy manager and cat (although we loved the cat - he was nice!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinitycherity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed two nights with friends in this nice looking place. Location is great and central! Rooms were tidy and atmosphere good. Free breakfast in the morning was definately a great plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.4 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Art Deco Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Property: Criterion Art Deco Backpackers
Address: City Centre 48 Emerson Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Criterion Art Deco Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing