We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lodge/hotel experience ever”
Review of Breckenridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Breckenridge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Lodge/hotel experience ever”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Breckenridge lodge is a rare gem. Our stay at Breckenridge took place at the beginning of our vacation in New Zealand. Even though we stayed at some lovely lodges after that, none could compare to Breckenridge. Malcolm, the owner, does everything in his power to make you feel at home and sets the scene for you to relax and just enjoy your stay. The food is exquisite. Malcom - thank you once again. We will be back. Future visits to New Zealand will include stays at Breckenridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANE_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Set on a hillside overlooking vineyards the Lodge is a place of tranquility and calm. From the low key , but friendly welcome from Malcolm ( the owner and chef) to the final wander around the gardens before we left, our couple of days were extremely restful. As a base from which to explore the regions wines Breckenridge Lodge was ideal.The room was comfortable, the rest of the Lodge equally so and the meals.... what can one say - fantastic. Interesting flavours, great combinations of ingredients, well presented and need I say , eaten with delight. Malcolms choice of wines with the mals was excellent. A slight quibble was the absence of any local or regional craft beers.

With the temperatures in the high 20s and low 30sC, a swimming pool to unwind in after a challenging day on the wine trails would have been a plus. Also not having seen the pizza oven area until the last morning we felt that given the warmth of the nights a meal there would have been fantastic. Overall we really enjoyed Breckenridge Lodge.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony on the top floor was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and i recently stayed at this beautiful property, and enjoyed Malcolm's gift for making and serving delicious food and warm hospitality. We felt welcolmed from the moment we arrived, and loved the magnificent views, restful decor and helpful travel advice. Malcolm has created a haven for travelers through his hard work and vision, - the garden is well worth a walk around, and beautiful Napier is a short drive away.

Room Tip: some of the upstairs rooms have a balcony with amazing views. Downstairs rooms have access to the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthsteadVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After 5 star cuzine in Switzerland, fine dining in France, great restaurants in the USA, and traveling the world,it was in Napier NZ that I was truely suprised and impressed with every part of a meal. Flavors and combinations that were just wonderful. Also the lodge is a bit more than just a nice spot to sleep. Malcolm is a treasure! Stay here for the best NZ wine country has to offer. We did not visit a winery (and we visited a lot) that did not know who Malcolm is.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We'd endorse all the reviews below!! Beautiful location, outstanding food (Gordon Ramsay eat your heart out) and one of the most welcoming hosts we've ever experienced. Do take a tour of the garden with Malcolm and wonder how he can ever have achieved all this.
We've absolutely no hesitation in recommending Breckenridge Lodge and would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtjstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The lodge is indeed located in a beautiful spot overlooking the hills. Malcolm the owner was very helpful regarding driving routes and places to visit. I have not compared prices amongst lodges in the area but it sounds to us quite pricey in absolute terms especially the room is not that big and you don't necessarily get any outdoor space - the room next door to us has a balcony however.

We only had breakfast there and it was very well executed but for the occasion we weren't keen to have dinner with fellow guests at the table so we chose to dine at mission estate which was 8 km away and you can easily arrange a taxi.

If mission estate had lodging and they charge the same level as breckenridge then I think it is fairly priced.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and if money is not a factor in your consideration, the lodge is great. We tend to look at these places in light of their prices so I think the lodge is a tick pricey for what it is. We stayed at Alystone in martinborough and it was half the price and In my opinion more elegantly decorated etc

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony if there is no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-slumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

From the minute we arrived until we left, Malcolm made us feel completely at home; nothing was too much trouble. From advice on what to do and where to go, Malcolm was on hand to help. The accommodation and gardens were superb, only outshone by Malcolm's exquisite cooking, which is 'Michelin' standard cuisine. 'The' place to stay if you are visiting Napier and we look forward to our next visit.

Gary & Anita, Southampton

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazNeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
7.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
7.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
7.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
10.5 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#5 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckenridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckenridge Lodge

Property: Breckenridge Lodge
Address: 1 Breckenridge Lane | Taradale, Napier 4183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Hotel Class:5 star — Breckenridge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breckenridge Lodge is a boutique Luxury Lodge of New Zealand. Renowned Chef Malcolm Redmond purpose built this unique 5 bedroom lodge with vineyard view, as well as, its own kitchen garden and orchard. He wanted to ensure each guest received the highest quality of cusine, accommodation and persoanlized service possible. It is our goal for each guest to feel spoiled and enjoy an amazing New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Breckenridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing