We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breckenridge Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairley Motor Lodge(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Lady Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
173
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pairingnew zealandlavender roomoutstanding chefhillside overlookingmaster chefown gardenfor pre dinner drinksstunning foodgastronomic delightmichelin star standardevery biteoutstanding dinnerpicture bookaccompanied by local winesrecommended wineother guests
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for three nights at Breckenridge Lodge, a house in an interesting garden overlooking a vineyard. It was like staying at the home of friends, one of whom was a masterchef. The atmosphere was relaxed and nothing was too much trouble for Malcolm Redmond and Ellie. One afternoon we got in about 3.30 p.m. and Malcolm asked if we would like a cup of tea. We said not, but perhaps we would like tea about 5.00 p.m. Sure enough at 5.00 p.m. Malcolm appeared to ask if we would still like tea. For one night we were the only guests having dinner and the following night we were the only guests in the lodge. On each evening we had the most superb dinner prepared specially for us. Although five or six courses are served at dinner they are well balanced and interesting and not overwhelming. Malcolm advises on appropriate wines for each course. Although we felt we had "done" Napier in three days, we would happily go back just to stay at Breckenridge Lodge. Just one little fly in the ointment is that guests eat breakfast and dinner all at the same table. This can work with a congenial group of guests but sometimes perhaps doesn't.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Breckenridge lodge is in the valley of Omarunui, which is gorgeous. Our room overlooked a vineyard and the mountains. It is a very special B&B. The owner has done much of the work on the lodge himself. It has personal touches throughout. Our room was huge and so appealing. The hosts were so welcoming that we felt we were with old friends.
We had dinner both nights at the lodge. We are 'FOODIES" and the food and presentation was as good as any 5 star restaurant in the States.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhtnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Breckenridge Lodge early this month. Simply put, our stay was superb. Our room was the 'Vanilla' Room which is upstairs overlooking the vineyard and has its own balcony. The room was cosy, the bed extremely comfortable and incredibly clean. No dirt, grime or mould to be found - anywhere. It was also well insulated which meant that we never heard any noises outside our room. No late night disturbances or sounds. Just what you need when you're on holidays. There was a small kitchenette where you could help yourself to drinks (soft drink, wine, tea, coffee etc). However the biggest surprise was the degustation dinner. We don't usually partake in these as it always seems the majority of the courses don't suit our tastes but if you stay, you must MUST have at least one. Every course that was delivered to us was not only a visual feast, but so delicious. It was one of the highlights of the stay. This just happened to also be the night were the Lodge was booked out (10 people) and it was wonderful to have a 'full house' around the table and meet people from all around the world. The night lingered pleasantly on and we were all reluctant to head off to bed. Malcolm and Ellie are the consummate hosts. The food is incredible (the homemade muesli is to die for), the Lodge is well built and located - only 10 minutes or so outside of Napier and approx 15 minutes to the airport. A must to add to your list. Bill and Irene (Australia).

Room Tip: The Vanilla Room has the most amazing view over the vineyard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Malcolm redmond and his team of two assistants' unique combination of gourmet cooking and excellent hospitality makes this one of our top 5 places to stay in the world. Even the breakfasts were of Michelin presentation standard and served individually (no buffet here) and include, for instance fresh Local fruit in season served with home made lime sorbet, followed by homemade granola soaked in apple guide and served with local yoghurt, then a different hot dish every day I had French toast with warm bananas. We stayed here for four nights and stayed for dinner for all 4. Malcolm shops for fresh ingredients daily and serves local wine to accompany. Only 5 rooms so book ahead. Malcolm will arrange local winery tours to taste fab Hawke's bay wine

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at Breckenridge recently. The room was nice and very cosy with a most serpent view of the vineyard. But the dinner was a most pleasant surprise. We had stayed at quite a few fine- dining lodges before and this occasion was easily the best. Chef and owner Malcom was a most gracious host as well. We would fully recommend Breckenridge and would hope to visit again when we return to New Zealand. Anita and David (Singapore) Feb 14

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidreview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews