We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect stay in Napier”
Review of The Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Landing
Ranked #14 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect stay in Napier”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We spent 3 nights in the Bayview Suite as part of our honeymoon, and couldn't have been happier with our time there. Jill was the most friendly, welcoming, insightful hostess possible, and we just felt so at home at the Landing. The bed was so comfortable, the room and views were spectacular, and the large bathroom with tub was luxurious.

Jill made reservations for dinner two of our nights there, and helped us decide on terrific places. The breakfasts were wonderful as well - local fruits, homemade muesli and marmalade, and made-to-order eggs and coffee overlooking Hawke's Bay.

We are already missing the Landing, and will do our very best to return soon! Thanks for everything, Jill!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

All we can do is echo the other reviews. Great room, fantastic view, warm and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at The Landing as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand. We can honestly say that we were blown away by the treatment that Jill and Alan gave us from the first minute. They truly went out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The place itself, is stunning. Set high above the coastline in Bluff Hill, the rooms, particularly the Bay View room, offer some spectacular views. Beautifully decorated, the rooms were very spacious and extremely comfortable. Our stay was punctuated with some lovely touches from our excellent and friendly hosts, including home made biscuits, white wine and chocolates. Alan even conducted an expert search around Napier for my wife's missing gloves and even posted them back to the UK when they were found!

A memorable stay and we will definitely stay here are when we're back in Napier!

Room Tip: Opt for the Bay View room for some stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had the most amazing stay at The Landing, it really is a 5 Star experience. The rooms are fantastic (particularly the top room with the view across the bay), beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and there some really love touches like home made biscuits and a bottle of wine on arrival. Oh, and the most comfortable bed I've slept on including electric blankets which was very much appreciated after a wet and windy bike ride around the winneries. The breakfasts are also fantastic here as well, lots of choice, very tasty, fresh and beautifully presented.

But the thing that really makes The Landing so special and such a birlliant experience are the hosts. Jill and Allan really make you feel welcome and they go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay there, I've never stayed at another B&B where they give you a lift into town for dinner! It's like staying with dear family friends they look after you so well. We have a lot of happy memories to take away from staying here and we really didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The Ocean view room is spectacular, you can wake up to the most beautiful view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I loved the amazing view. nice room. great host. thoughtful small touches like home made biscuits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straphaelNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Well worth the time and location. Terrific hosts and spectacular views.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a good directions or map to locate the place. It's like going to someone'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

there is a reason that the landing is the top rated B&B in napier, and it isn't because of the lovely rooms, the great views of the bay and snow-capped mountains on the horizon. what sets the Landing apart, is Jill (the proprietor). she is the best B&B hostess i have encountered in 40 years of staying at B&Bs. if you are planning a trip to napier, do yourself a favor and book the ocean view suite. it is worth all of the accolades.

Room Tip: the ocean view suite is worth the extra few dollars!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beulahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
673 reviews
4.7 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#7 of 41 in Napier
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Property: The Landing
Address: 142 Thompson Street, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing