We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mighty Quest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Napier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Mighty Quest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I recently traveled all over New Zealand and one of the highlights was an overnight at the Quest Hotel in Napier. This hotel is head and shoulders above most of the accommodation our travel agent booked for us. I think originally the hotel was an old bank building made of stone and very solid. From the outside it looked a little severe but once through the glass doors everything was new and clean and very elegantly decorated. There's a lot going on in Napier. It was mostly flattened in the 1930s by a shocking earth quake and many people died. The town was rebuilt in the art deco style with so many buildings all together painted in pastel shades of the era. We went on an organized walking tour run by the Tourist Information Office and all the intricacies of the design were pointed out and explained. In March there's so many events happening to celebrate the Art Deco period. Most of the towns folk have a wardrobe filled with roaring 20's outfits and there's a ball and street parades and everyone lets loose. Napier is on the coast and the beach is lovely. Restaurants in Napier are first class. Our room was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff at the Quest, too were friendly and helpful offering directions. If you stay on a Friday or Saturday night the car parking next door is free. It's on council land though and during the week is quite expensive. I loved my stay in Napier and would happily have stayed a lot longer. Happy travels, Dianne

Room Tip: Find out exactly when all the excitement happens, it's near March and well worth trying to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    111
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
41
175
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend away at the Quest, where we stayed in a studio room. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff were professional and the service was to a high standard. I would highly recommend staying here. The secure parking is a great idea and we were able to lock our bikes down there too. The Quest Napier is located in town and therefore we were able to walk or bike to most of our activities/restaurants. A lovely weekend, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is close to everything in Napier. The host Clinton was always very helpful and obliging. We recommend booking a car park early because the car park in the basement is small and can run out of spaces. Otherwise you can park in the council car park next door for $4 a day. Our room was well serviced and had everything you need in it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Napier was a pleasant surprise adding to the flavor of places we stayed our honeymoon in New Zealand. Likewise, Quest Napier was a unique accommodation choice we made. The highlights were:

1. Hospitality & Knowledge of the hosts. They are friendly / helpful, very local and aware of Napier.
2. Fully equipped kitchenette, parking space, bathroom.
3. Quiet location. Value for money apartments.

I highly recommend everyone who visits new Zealand to stay at Napier for at least a couple of nights and if you choose to stay at Quest, you wouldn't be disappointed. Apartments are always homely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rohan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This little hotel is well situated with all amenities, very helpful personable staff and spotlessly clean. We have stayed here a number of times and always leave with a very positive feeling. They have an underground car park and because we had business needs we were allowed to stay in the room past the normal checkout time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Napier is a beautiful small town and we arrived (unintentionally) over the Art Deco Annual celebrations. The Quest is well situated for getting everywhere. Our apartment was on the ground floor and was adequate. The kitchen facilities were plentiful, but on the whole it all lacked atmosphere. The room was extremely hot and the air con didn't work efficiently. All our accommodation was booked by our agent and to be honest I would have preferred something more upmarket.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyposhpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The service was terrific at Quest. Due to a few factors we arrived a day early and then had to leave earlier as well. Everything was handled without fuss or complaint, the managers and staff are keen to help. The rooms are big enough and the kitchen facilities great. We had a room with a balcony at the front and being in Napier it wasnt too noisy. Perhaps a little close to the people in the next room on the balcony, but you can't have everything. Overall clean and comfortable with excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTravellerAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Napier

Property: Quest Napier
Address: 176 Dickens Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Napier, located in the heart of Napier. Walk to all the shops, cafes, Farmer's Market and Art Deco attractions that this unique city is famous for. Our stylish self-contained apartments each contain a kitchenette for self-catering. Supermarkets are located right behind our building for convenience.Marine Parade and the MTG Hawke's Bay Museum are a short stroll from our front door step and this compact inner city area is a walker's dream. Discover at your pace or hire bicycles to venture further afield on any of the numerous bicycle trails. Our Historic building blends the old with the new for a unique accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Napier Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing