We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Instantly made to feel at home”
Review of Seaview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #10 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Instantly made to feel at home”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We arrived fairly early in the afternoon from Taupo, and were warmly welcomed by Catherine. We stayed two nights but were the only guests the first night, and had the entire upper floor to ourselves. It's a home with real character, having been built over 100 years ago but survived the 1931 quake and has since been lovingly restored. It sits on Bluff Hill above the town, but with an easy flight of steps down to sea level and just a few minutes walk into central Napier. Catherine's helpfulness and local knowledge were invaluable in planning our self-drive tour of some of the Hawkes Bay wineries.

We had breakfast, in the late summer sun, on the terrace at the lower level, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. There was really only one negative - that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We got there at the end of a rainy day, and our host will tell you to bring anything for the 4 seasons, should you come in NZ :-) Walking distance to city center, this quiet and cosy place is just so nice ! Although our bathroom was not in our bedroom, the latter was just so nice with an astonishing sea view ! Not talking about the breakfast which was just amazing: you'll have it on the balcony looking over the sea side ! We loved it !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
köln
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

it doesn't look it from the outside, but it is a nice, tasteful b&b with friendly hosts, clean rooms with comfortable beds and a spacious living room for the guests, close to the beautiful art deco city center (5 minutes walk) adn the pebble beach (not really nice for swimming)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petra-amalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Super little place with great views just a few steps up from Marine Parade. Spotless, comfortable room with huge bed. Neil always on hand for advice and served a nice little breakfast on the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: 5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing